Poor Man's Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Turned out great. Instead of using any corn syrup, I substituted wildflower honey 1:1, and baked it for 1 hour. My kids loved it, and so did I. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvin Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Photo by Denise King
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I make recipes exact to rate it. I gave this one 3 stars because it was ok as a sweet, easy and cheap dessert. I did have to cook longer, about an hour to get it to set up right and brown more. My opinion is there was to much oats and not as sweet as a true pecan pie. I have had a Poor Man's Pecan Pie before and it tasted as a pecan pie does. Maybe less oats more sugar? Hope this helps... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This pie is so good! I followed the recipe exactly. Added a bit more cooking time until the pie seemed like set jello in the middle when shaken lightly. It came out perfectly!! A great pie when you have little in the cupboard but want a nice treat or to serve to guest (on the cheap)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Easy. Delicious. Everything I expected. Received lots of accolades over this pie. Made no substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I love this pie, i made it for Thanksgiving and everyone said that its good. My sis-in-law asked what did i do to get the pecans sooo small (LOL), i said its no pecans at all, its oatmeal!! They couldn't believe it. I found this recipe because i forgot the pecans at the store lucky me. This is my new recipe from now on. Great recipe and its not that stomach hurting sweet, its just right and i didn't change a thing. Thank you, Glenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Wow is this rich. It took 55 minutes in the oven which was too long for the frozen crust I used, but the filling was great if a little too sweet. I'm going to try this again with a more substantial crust and a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Thank you so much for this recipe! My father just loves pecan pie, but he's 87 with no teeth and can't eat it any longer. Now he can have pecan pie again! Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I added a cup of mini chocolate chips - just decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I absolutely loved it. Actually, I've never eaten pecan pie because I dislike pecans and can't really eat nuts. It was so delicious! It's going to become one of my favorite "go-to" dessert recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shumway, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
We will definitely be including this pie with all of our holiday meals and most likely other times as well. Nobody could believe this did not have pecans in it; they just thought they were the pecan chips or that I had crushed them to be super fine. Superb and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States