Poor Man's Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I thought this was good. Very easy to make, too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
To the reviewer who gave it one star and said it was grainy...I think you may have had your butter too soft and you didn't spend enough time whipping. Because this is the CREAMIEST, FLUFFIEST, and most DELICIOUS frosting recipe ever. It is smooth and silky, not overly sweet, and not overly buttery. "Until fluffy" really should say "at least 8 minutes" because it can be fluffy, but not all the sugar will have dissolved. If you want an awesome orange frosting, add a teaspoon or two of orange extract and for color, add some orange food color. It tastes just like a 50/50 or Dreamsickle ice cream bar. I frosted my orange cupcakes with this and because it's less sweet than regular buttercream, my family loved it. I also find that if you cook the flour and milk on low for a longer amount of time, you lose the floury taste. I whisked on low heat for about 10 minutes, and actually added a bit more milk to keep it from getting too clumpy. I now use 4 tablespoons of flour to the 1 cup of milk. Slow and low!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I have been searching for this recipe for over 20 years. A friend of mine in Michigan used it for a coconut cake and when I moved I lost contact with her, as well as my recipe book with all my favorites. NOW I can finally make icing that works for me. As SEVERAL people have said, this works only with butter, not margarine, though you can use shortening. The flour and milk must be COLD before you combine it with the other ingredients, not just room temperature. Otherwise, it is gooey and not at all what you are looking for. I put mine in the freezer when I take it off the stove and leave it for about 20 minutes or more until it is very well chilled. Do not take it off the stove until it is so thick that it is a paste, not a white sauce. Other than that, you should always be successful. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Great frosting, easy to make. For smooth creamy results stir cooled flour mixture through a seive before combining with butter mixture. This will keep in the fridge for several days. Remove from fridge, warm to room temp, stir vigorously and it will return to it's original smooth creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This is really very easy and tasty. I like how light the frosting turned out. And I am sure I can tinker with it by adding different flavorings as well as perhaps unsweetened cocoa powder the next time I make it. I think the trick is to make sure you whip the butter and sugar together really well. Using super fine sugar or food processing regular sugar would help too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
When I was a kid I loved to bake, a old neighbor gave me this recipe. I use to make it for my parents and brothers Birthday cakes. When I left home I lost the recipe. So glad to have found it again. (My older brother just asked me to make it for him, justs like when we were kids again)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
My Mom gave me this recipe a few years ago, only she called it poor man's whipped cream. I love this recipe,and I use it all the time. It's wonderful for banana cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I use this recipe on all my cakes and have always received rave reviews. It is very smooth, creamy and sweet. Be sure to beat it well -- for 8 mins as you add each ingredient. You can even add peanut butter to the mix, which is great on a chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I used this recipe on a lemon pound cake (recipe also from this site) It was just what I was looking for. I cut it in half and it worked great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This recipe requires basic cooking skills, and a decent mixer. Don't try it if you don't know how to make a roux. This is my family's favorite frosting, and I will occasionally add some cocoa for a chocolate version. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States