Poor Man's Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
When I was a kid I loved to bake, a old neighbor gave me this recipe. I use to make it for my parents and brothers Birthday cakes. When I left home I lost the recipe. So glad to have found it again. (My older brother just asked me to make it for him, justs like when we were kids again)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This recipe requires basic cooking skills, and a decent mixer. Don't try it if you don't know how to make a roux. This is my family's favorite frosting, and I will occasionally add some cocoa for a chocolate version. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
To the reviewer who gave it one star and said it was grainy...I think you may have had your butter too soft and you didn't spend enough time whipping. Because this is the CREAMIEST, FLUFFIEST, and most DELICIOUS frosting recipe ever. It is smooth and silky, not overly sweet, and not overly buttery. "Until fluffy" really should say "at least 8 minutes" because it can be fluffy, but not all the sugar will have dissolved. If you want an awesome orange frosting, add a teaspoon or two of orange extract and for color, add some orange food color. It tastes just like a 50/50 or Dreamsickle ice cream bar. I frosted my orange cupcakes with this and because it's less sweet than regular buttercream, my family loved it. I also find that if you cook the flour and milk on low for a longer amount of time, you lose the floury taste. I whisked on low heat for about 10 minutes, and actually added a bit more milk to keep it from getting too clumpy. I now use 4 tablespoons of flour to the 1 cup of milk. Slow and low!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Great frosting, easy to make. For smooth creamy results stir cooled flour mixture through a seive before combining with butter mixture. This will keep in the fridge for several days. Remove from fridge, warm to room temp, stir vigorously and it will return to it's original smooth creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I have been searching for this recipe for over 20 years. A friend of mine in Michigan used it for a coconut cake and when I moved I lost contact with her, as well as my recipe book with all my favorites. NOW I can finally make icing that works for me. As SEVERAL people have said, this works only with butter, not margarine, though you can use shortening. The flour and milk must be COLD before you combine it with the other ingredients, not just room temperature. Otherwise, it is gooey and not at all what you are looking for. I put mine in the freezer when I take it off the stove and leave it for about 20 minutes or more until it is very well chilled. Do not take it off the stove until it is so thick that it is a paste, not a white sauce. Other than that, you should always be successful. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
As a former professional cake decorator I'd like to say that I LOVE this recipe and used it often. On wedding cakes also....I like to make a thicker flour base (for decorator frosting) so I use more flour to milk, about half and half. I also give the base a whirl in the food processor after it is cool, to make sure it is perfectly smooth and able to pipe. Then proceed to the formula. As others have said, use BUTTER for the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I have a similar recipe that I got from my mother. Mine calls for 1 stick of margarine, 1/2 cup crisco and no salt. There are a couple of problems that people seem to have with this recipe. The first is that you must whisk the flour into the milk until you do not see any more clumps. Then you need to cook the mixture over medium heat and constantly stir until it thickens into a paste. Which is sort of a pain but well worth the effort. The second problem is that you must wait until the flour mixture is completely cool before combining with other ingredients. This is key. I use my recipe all the time. Goes great with chocolate chip banana cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I use this recipe often. There a few caveats that should be mentioned as we all know that half of our cooking success is really in technique and not just the ingredients. First--try to make on low humidity day or have the AC going to dehumidify the air--things just seem to work in this recipe better with lower humidity. Second--WRT ingredients--whole milk or any level of cream will work better--must be dairy and not any of the imitations that are quite good but will NOT yielod the same result with THIS particular recipe. THIRD--please do yourself a favor and use butter the first few times around with this recipe--my only failures came in using a cheap margarine and other whipped "spreads" that are great on toast but don't always make the transition into old family favorite recipes (I figure if my mom and grandma made it with butter--if I want the same result I should use butter)--actually my frosting was slimey tasting when I used one of those 'spreads'--grossed me out and I wasted the other ingredients and still had to get dressed and run to my all night grocer. You need to reduce the flour and milk mixture to a smooth paste by constantly whisking over medium low heat. Is this a fussy recipe--kinda but well worth the effort and like everything else--the more times you prepare it--the better you will become.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This frosting tasted really bad and had a texture I did not care for. It seriously looked like hair gel. It never fluffed; it was always thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States