Poor Man's Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe but found it just a bit flat in taste. I made it exactly as written...not sure what I would do differently next time but will try some extra spices and add a few different veggies too. Will be reading reviews for ideas. But I had all the ingredients on hand and it worked out for me in that respect this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This great for a budget lunch; loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spencerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Have made several times... the missing ingredient? GARLIC! I used three cloves to the oil and it made a HUGE difference. If you like spicy, a pinch of chili flakes is really good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tegan Mally
Home Town: South Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This is a very good starting point for fried rice. I did a few things differently, such as refrigerating the rice after cooking it. I also added in a few more veggies (red peppers, zucchini, broccoli, whatever I had left over.) I also added some crumbled up cooked bacon. The sesame oil was a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This was very good and quick, both my husband and I liked it! It will be a regular staple in our house. You can add any type of vegetable's you desire. I didn't have any green onions so I just used regular white onions and green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was a good Lenten meal. I followed the suggestions of another reviewer and added peas and carrots, also sliced celery. My husband enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I'm sorry but this was just terribly bland, even when I used a lot more soy sauce, there still wasn't much improvement. I could only manage a couple bites before I gave up on it entirely. I won't be making this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This is good...don't really think it tastes too much like the stuff you get in take out....but still good. You do need to make sure that you add the fresh ginger because without it...it is just too plain. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Nope, will NEVER make this again. It was very bland. I did not use instant rice, but the result should have been the same. Does not even come close to a fried rice taste. I have read and heard that you should use day old rice to get that fried rice taste. Won't ever make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I thought it was a bit plain. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States