Poor Man's Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This rather reminds me of the meat pattie DQ uses for their DQ Dude sandwich. Not bad at all. Kids love it! Wouldn't change a thing on it. Try it on a hamburger bun with mayo, lettuce and tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA1940

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Wow! This is a GREAT recipe - I loved having something different to do with ground beef. Definitely be heavy on the salt and pepper though - I added it to the ground beef, to the eggs, and to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
As other reviewers have stated, this was great! I didn't have any milk so used 1/2 can cream of mushroom soup with a bit of water to thin. I warmed it in the same pan and it browned wonderfully & tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This meal was a huge hit a one of my family get togethers and i made sixty patties and not a single one was left at the end of the night. The only thing i'm going to do different is dip the patties in flour first then the egg and flour again because most of the flour washed off in the grease the first time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgeee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is great! There is no need for 1 cup flour and 4 eggs. a 1/2 cup flour and 2 eggs are sufficient. I added a 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper when making the gravy. I served this with potato pancakes and fried eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I just finished making this and it was absolutely wonderful! I did add salt and pepper to everything from mixing the burgers, the eggs, the flour and the gravy. This was so easy, I will be making again. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Perfect as is! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Great, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Wow! My kids and I loved this! We used steak and flattened it using a meat mallet instead of ground beef. The steak came out tender and the breading was crisp and flavorful. We will be eating this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was so good. I did add a little garlic salt into the flour. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States