Poor Man's Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This rather reminds me of the meat pattie DQ uses for their DQ Dude sandwich. Not bad at all. Kids love it! Wouldn't change a thing on it. Try it on a hamburger bun with mayo, lettuce and tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA1940

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Wow! This is a GREAT recipe - I loved having something different to do with ground beef. Definitely be heavy on the salt and pepper though - I added it to the ground beef, to the eggs, and to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This meal was a huge hit a one of my family get togethers and i made sixty patties and not a single one was left at the end of the night. The only thing i'm going to do different is dip the patties in flour first then the egg and flour again because most of the flour washed off in the grease the first time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgeee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Perfect as is! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These weren't bad at all. May try again and add some steak seasoning to the meat before cooking. Used only 2 eggs and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Great, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Wow! My kids and I loved this! We used steak and flattened it using a meat mallet instead of ground beef. The steak came out tender and the breading was crisp and flavorful. We will be eating this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is great! There is no need for 1 cup flour and 4 eggs. a 1/2 cup flour and 2 eggs are sufficient. I added a 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper when making the gravy. I served this with potato pancakes and fried eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was so good. I did add a little garlic salt into the flour. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was tasty...I would give it about 4.5 stars. I had some problems with the breading...maybe I just didn't cook it long enough, but something was "off" about it. Overall, great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States