Poor Man's Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
We're not a big fan of foods outside our comfort zone, and neither of us had ever as much as seen an avacado before, but I was hoping other people would appreciate this dish, and it seemed easy enough to make....turns out, I enjoyed it, and so did the party-goers. We had fun peeling and pitting the avacodos, and using 3 medium-sized ones, we became fast experts in the preparation of this fruit (use a plastic knife and you can't go wrong). We didn't find the exact size of the mexi-corn can that the recipe called for, so we used 2 smaller cans that added up to an extra couple ounces. If you find the same in your store, I'm sure the extra didn't negatively alter the results. The recipe yielded a considerable dish, and combined with tortillas or pita chips, you've got a great contribution to any party. For the right event (I think this fits best with a summer theme), we'd certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
very nice! i found it a bit dry so next time i will add something. makes a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
love it love it love it. Easily adaptable to your tastes if you like it hot or mild, or if you are like me and like a lot more avocado!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliann11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Very good. I did not add the oil and it was still great. Got better after sitting in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is awesome and whenever I make it I receive so many compliments that it's a little embarrassing how easy it is. I usually skip the green onions and keep the avocado in larger chunks. Last time I made, I threw in some oil that I had made with roasted garlic soaking in it and it was excellent. I've never found mexicorn and always use regular canned corn and it turns out great. Lately, we've been enjoying it with blue nacho chips. One of the easiest flavourful & unique recipes I've ever found on this site. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Garlic needed :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is very similar to the Texas Caviar recipes but w/ avocado instead of black eyed peas. I'd take avocado over the peas any day! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very good... followed the recipe exactly except for adding a little lime juice... it's important to give the flavors some time to merge before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Made this for a Labor Day family picnic and it was a hit. When I told someone what I was bringing, they said no one would eat it. Were they ever wrong. I had so many compliments, I felt like Martha Stewart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Fantastic dish! Fresh and healthy ~ my only suggestion is to add more of everything! Also, to use fresh peppers and corn verses the canned stuff. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States