Poor Man's Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Really enjoyed this when prepared per directions.Then I added lime zest and juice and fresh cilantro and it is delecious beyond description!Thanks for this recipe....its a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Andersen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
As written, this recipe is a bit bland. I improved the flavour by adding lime juice, chopped cilantro, minced garlic and sea salt. Much, much better after those additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I modified this quite a bit incorporating suggestions of other reviewers. I first made it during the winter when good tomatoes were hard to find. As modified i likeed both the ease and taste. --2 avocado, peeled and cut into bite-size chunks (make sure avocados not too ripe. Stores better and longer if avocado a little green) --2 medium cans of diced tomatoes and 1 medium can of diced tomatoes with chilis (all very well drained). Omitted chilis, green onions, hot sauce, and roma tomatoes. --Zest and juice of one lime --Large bunch of cilantro (finely chopped) (fresh cilantro is key to taste) --1 tablespoon of store bought minced garlic (the fresh garlic was a little raw tasting) --1 can whole kernel corn (drained; we like the taste of vacuum packed corn best) --2 cans black beans rinsed and drained --1/4 cup Red Wine Vinegar --1/4 olive oil --salt and pepper to taste. Mix all together and store in refrigerator. Makes a great side that goes with so many things--chips, crackers, or just by itself. I've shared this recipe with many people. We LOVE poor man caviar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
A very simple and delicious recipe! I like to use zesty italian dressing instead of oil and vinegar, and I also use diced fresh bell peppers and plain shoepeg corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I thought the flavor was so-so. I think it would have been better if I hadn't used ultra-ripe avacados, they turned to a soupy mush istead of staying in nice cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Hansson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This is a dish that's so good you want to go back for more, even though you're already full. I served it as a side dish (with Tomatillo Soup, also from this site), so I chopped the pieces bigger. Also, I used fresh corn and red bell pepper instead of canned Mexicorn. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I was feeling a little creative and decided to serve this as a "salad" to go with a Mexican dish . It was fantastic. I added one chopped red bell pepper and used frozen corn but everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Really good and easy! The kids, ages 14 and 3, wouldn't eat it, but they're super-picky anyway. I had this at a pool party a few weeks ago and couldn't wait to make it myself. I didn't change a thing other than adding a dash of salt and pepper. Served it with tortilla chips. Thanks for the tasty and nutritious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
YUM! This was not a particularly pretty dish but it tasted great. I used 3 avocados and after I chop them up I squeeze some lemon or lime juice on the avocado, red onion instead of green onion, and about a 1/3 cup of chopped cilantro. I have tried it with the dressing listed in the recipe and also tried it with Italian dressing and liked the Italian dressing better. Make sure your avocados are firm yet ripe. Don't mix everything until all of the ingredients are in the bowl. The more you stir it the uglier it looks.I have also used canned tomatoes instead of fresh and it worked out fine - just drain the tomatoes well. A can of rotell tomatoes adds that extra heat if desired. This one is a keeper. Great with the Frito lay scoops! ADD SOME CILANTRO - IT MAKES IT EVEN BETTER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is awesome and whenever I make it I receive so many compliments that it's a little embarrassing how easy it is. I usually skip the green onions and keep the avocado in larger chunks. Last time I made, I threw in some oil that I had made with roasted garlic soaking in it and it was excellent. I've never found mexicorn and always use regular canned corn and it turns out great. Lately, we've been enjoying it with blue nacho chips. One of the easiest flavourful & unique recipes I've ever found on this site. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States