Poor Man's Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is simply wonderful. I made this New Year's Day. I didn't have parcley but wasn't missed. Started a new diet with this, use fresh greens and 1/2 c of this. No salad dressing need. Thank so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I wish I could give this more stars!!! This was so yummy -- once you start eating it you CANNOT stop! The fresh basil and parsley really make the flavor, so I would not recommend using the dried variety. I also added some sugar -- I didn't measure, but probably about 1 1/2 teaspoons. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
everyone was scared to try it but once they did--it was gone fast. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Really great flavor! The mix of beans makes this dish hearty while still feeling light. I had to substitute rice vinegar for the red wine vinegar because I didn't have. And I didn't have time to let it sit for 24 hours - so I'm looking forward to leftovers tomorrow! Great hit at my barbecue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xley5
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I have been looking for a good cowboy caviar recipe and this is it! I used what I had on hand namely kidney beans, navy beans, yellow corn, 1/3 c. dried parsley and 1/2 to 1 t. dried basil. The dressing in this recipe is so much more mellow than the recipes that use harsh bottled Italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was so good!!!! I'm def going to keep on making this. I made as stated except I didn't have fresh basil so I used dried, thats all. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Since I forgot to get parsley, I didnt use it. Took one reviewers advice and pulsed some of it slightly in food processor to give it a little thicker texture. This is really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Made this for a party and everyone loved it! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Yummy! WE've been making "texas cavier" for all our summer family outings for a few years now. Everyone loves it and its easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This was easy to make and wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States