Poor Man's Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Made this and have served to my boyfriend and two friends, so far everyone likes it! I used a yellow onion instead of a small/sweet onion and decreased the parsley (will decrease even more the next time I make it as I don't really like cool-toned foods as much). It is great warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirrely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
My family did not care for this. I think it was the dressing that tasted a bit strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCDaisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I make this at least once a week, i like to add olives and a can of tuna to make it a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newmommy
Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I'm not even a huge bean fan but wanted to incorporate them into our diet. This was a great start. I love the garlic and the corn adds a sweetness to balance the salt and vinegar. I left out the black-eyed peas, used onion powder since I didn't have onions and used a bit of mustard since I didn't have mustard powder. It turned out great. Even my 8 year old raved...he liked his on a toasted pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piejava

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
excellent and GOOD for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Made this for a party and everyone loved it! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Since I forgot to get parsley, I didnt use it. Took one reviewers advice and pulsed some of it slightly in food processor to give it a little thicker texture. This is really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Really great flavor! The mix of beans makes this dish hearty while still feeling light. I had to substitute rice vinegar for the red wine vinegar because I didn't have. And I didn't have time to let it sit for 24 hours - so I'm looking forward to leftovers tomorrow! Great hit at my barbecue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was so good!!!! I'm def going to keep on making this. I made as stated except I didn't have fresh basil so I used dried, thats all. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is simply wonderful. I made this New Year's Day. I didn't have parcley but wasn't missed. Started a new diet with this, use fresh greens and 1/2 c of this. No salad dressing need. Thank so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States