Poor Man's Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is really good, my husband even liked it which is weird! Next time I will add the corn though and I wont use garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelso!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
easy tasty dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmyacosta

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Good stuff. I could not find black eyed peas in our local store so I used black and white beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Oh my Gosh! this is so good! I didn't realize it when I opened them but my blackeyed peas were smoke flavored. It just made it even better. Didn't have red wine vinegar so I used white wine and balsamic. Also, added sugar and used dry spices. Didn't measure anything-Sill sooooo awesome. You can't mess this up. Can't wait to try it after it sits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
we love this stuff! However, we modify a bit. I use only a couple tablespoons of oil, substitute cilantro for the parsley, and use dried basil. I also use red onion instead of Vidalia, and top it with fresh avocado. I don't mix the avocado into the salad bowl because this salad tastes best the next day, and mixing the avocado in makes it too mushy the next day. I usually put in extra beans or black eyed peas, depending on which I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Here's a recipe that's healthy, cheap, TASTY and attractive! Aside from not using black-eyed peas because I never have them, I don't tamper with the ingredients( Although, the avocado addition sounds good too..) This is the real deal people. We call it cowboy caviar and laugh about the name- it's so entertaining! Try it. Thanks ANNELISA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I love, love, love this :) Sometimes I use a raspberry vinaigrette (Paul Newman's) for the sauce. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partyof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Very good! Not everyone's taste at the party but was still good. Served it cold. Great picnic salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is very good and very tasty. I used dry beans, which I soaked and then cooked for about a half hour or until tender. I also broiled my corn so that it browned/blackened a little bit. And used green onions instead of sweet because that was what I had. I've sure you can vary quite a few things with this one and still have it be a great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States