Poor Man's Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was EXCELLENT. I skimped just a tiny bit on the parsley, upped the basil a bit and added an extra clove of garlic. I will say that it ended up quite garlicky -- which was ok as I really like garlic -- but add garlic at your own risk. I wanted it to be more dip-like in consistency, so I used my stick (immersion) blender to puree it a bit, leaving it a little chunky. Was quite thick, this way, but SO delicious. It was a big hit at the New Year's Eve party I attended. Be aware that you do really need to leave time to let it sit before serving -- I made it the night before, and when I tasted it then it was VERY oniony, but by the next day it had blended and tamed nicely. I believe it's mandatory that the onion used be a sweet variety; any other kind would be to harsh, I think. If you substitute another kind of onion, you'll want to cut back considerably on the quantity, and maybe add a pinch of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I wish I could give this more stars!!! This was so yummy -- once you start eating it you CANNOT stop! The fresh basil and parsley really make the flavor, so I would not recommend using the dried variety. I also added some sugar -- I didn't measure, but probably about 1 1/2 teaspoons. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I made this dish for a birthday get-together and received great reviews. I increased the vinegar a bit, added two chopped Roma tomatoes, and gently mixed in a chopped avocado just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugaree1485

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I make this at least once a week, i like to add olives and a can of tuna to make it a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Carreiro
Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Prepared for Thunder BB end of season party 2/2009 and it was a big hit. Added cilantro, omitted parsley and basil, added red pepper, added cucumber. Dressing is very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I have 2 friends that are very picky eaters and they loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginufred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comanche, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Love this! So easy. I've made this for snacking at home and I recently made it for a party at work. It gets rave reviews and everyone was curious about what it was and how it was made. I love that! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This was easy to make and wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I'm not great in the kitchen. My husband is. But when I made this, he loved it. Two weeks later, he wanted to know why I hadn't made more! I add just a touch of fresh cilantro for him and a little habanero in place of the hot sauce for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
everyone was scared to try it but once they did--it was gone fast. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States