Poor Man's Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Yummy! WE've been making "texas cavier" for all our summer family outings for a few years now. Everyone loves it and its easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I wish I could give this more stars!!! This was so yummy -- once you start eating it you CANNOT stop! The fresh basil and parsley really make the flavor, so I would not recommend using the dried variety. I also added some sugar -- I didn't measure, but probably about 1 1/2 teaspoons. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This was easy to make and wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was EXCELLENT. I skimped just a tiny bit on the parsley, upped the basil a bit and added an extra clove of garlic. I will say that it ended up quite garlicky -- which was ok as I really like garlic -- but add garlic at your own risk. I wanted it to be more dip-like in consistency, so I used my stick (immersion) blender to puree it a bit, leaving it a little chunky. Was quite thick, this way, but SO delicious. It was a big hit at the New Year's Eve party I attended. Be aware that you do really need to leave time to let it sit before serving -- I made it the night before, and when I tasted it then it was VERY oniony, but by the next day it had blended and tamed nicely. I believe it's mandatory that the onion used be a sweet variety; any other kind would be to harsh, I think. If you substitute another kind of onion, you'll want to cut back considerably on the quantity, and maybe add a pinch of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Prepared for Thunder BB end of season party 2/2009 and it was a big hit. Added cilantro, omitted parsley and basil, added red pepper, added cucumber. Dressing is very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
everyone was scared to try it but once they did--it was gone fast. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xley5
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I have been looking for a good cowboy caviar recipe and this is it! I used what I had on hand namely kidney beans, navy beans, yellow corn, 1/3 c. dried parsley and 1/2 to 1 t. dried basil. The dressing in this recipe is so much more mellow than the recipes that use harsh bottled Italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is simply wonderful. I made this New Year's Day. I didn't have parcley but wasn't missed. Started a new diet with this, use fresh greens and 1/2 c of this. No salad dressing need. Thank so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was so good!!!! I'm def going to keep on making this. I made as stated except I didn't have fresh basil so I used dried, thats all. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Really great flavor! The mix of beans makes this dish hearty while still feeling light. I had to substitute rice vinegar for the red wine vinegar because I didn't have. And I didn't have time to let it sit for 24 hours - so I'm looking forward to leftovers tomorrow! Great hit at my barbecue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States