Poor Man's Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
It was okay, nothing special. It might have tasted better if I had not overcooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I was having company over last night and I realized yesterday afternoon that one of my guests would not be able to eat the cheesecake I made for dessert since she is allergic to cow dairy products. I jumped on here in a panic and found this recipe. I halved it and used an 8x8 baking dish and baked it for 20 minutes at 350. My oven runs hot, though, so other ovens may need more time. I also added a 1/2 t of vanilla and a 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. If you decide to do the same, keep in mind that I was halving the recipe. I threw in 1 t of baking powder since there seems to be some confusion as to whether it's needed or not. It turned out great! It's more of a spice bread than a cake and the leftovers go great with a cup of coffee in the morning. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This was a great recipe , and yes i noticed the recipe called for baking soda and in the directions it says baking powder also so i added 1tsp and to make sure the cake came out moist i added 1 cup of orange juice , it made all the difference yummmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My mother used to make this when I was little - she called it Yum-Yum cake. It such an easy to cake to make and is delicious either heated up or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingswood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
My husband's grandmother made a cake he loved called "yum-yum" cake. Unfortunately, no one in the family had the recipe so when Grandma passed away - about 15 years ago - the recipe was lost. I tried for years to recreate the taste without success. But now I can! Since we are cutting back on desserts, I do find this rather sweet so I will experiment with that. Grandma also added ginger brandy to the recipe (at least she said she that was why she wanted it), and chopped walnuts. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
vert good and flavorful. yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRGOVICKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
This recipe is great! Every morning when I get up, large portions of the cake are missing because of my husband the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
This is the recipie I have been searching for for a LONG time. My mom got it from my Gramma who got it from her mom and it was made during the depression when sugar, flour and such was cheap, thus the name "Poor Man's Cake". The recipie was lost and now I have rediscovered it again, except I will make it in a tube pan as my mom and Gramma always made it... Barbara L in NJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
Had a couple of gliches with the recipe. In the ingredient list, it didn't include baking powder but when putting it together, it said to add baking powder. I added about 1 tsp. just in case. Also at the top of the recipe, it said Cook Time: approx. 1 hour. At the end of the recipe, it said 25 minutes baking time. The 25 minutes was the correct time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2000
Really nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States