Poor Man's Beer Batter Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I use self- rising flour. Pancake mix is a little to sweet for my taste. If you don't have the self- rising flour, add some yeast to some regular flour. Measure nothing. Go for batter consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Pucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
These were so good! We saw this in a recent AR magazine & had to try it during 'beer batter' night. Delicious! We used Bud Light Lime & it was a hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I didn't like this recipe for a few reasons. First and foremost, make 100% sure that you are using white lake trout instead of the salmon-like ocean trout which will be too fatty. (I made the mistake.)This recipe also didn't work for me because the pancake batter was cooked perfectly when the inside of the fish was still raw. Some people would eat that, (tuna tartar) but I decided to bake it until it was cooked. Also, it soaked up a little too much oil for my taste, so I would suggest you use a thermometer to make sure your oil is at the perfect temperature, but if you're using lake trout, go ahead and give this easy recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Bregou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Added seasonings (garlic powder, onion powder, mrs. Dash). Dried fish with paper towel & floured the pieces before putting them in the batter. Was a great hit with the kids & grown ups. I made a bunch so was able to make it with a dark & light beer. Equally good but the dark beer batter browned quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This recipe does not work AT ALL, tried two different skillets, dredging in dry first and not, etc. no matter what, I wound up with a big pile of mush. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
using over and over again!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
AWFUL recipe and I will never use this again! The "batter" didn't fry up well at all - crumbled and burned, and had a noxious taste (sweet and greasy). From now on I'll make my own batter. I totally ruined otherwise good cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jozelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JroseHill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This turned out great. It was mostly user error however. Make sure your grease or oil is on a high temp before you put the fish in, otherwise the batter will get all clumpy, run off the sides of the fish and stick to the pan. It should literally crackle if you toss some flour or water in the pan. It was a delicious recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickyCooksitAll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States