Pomegranate Stew with Chicken (Khoresh Fesenjan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Personally, I thought this dish was a nice change from the ordinary. Let me tell you what I did differently... I replaced half of the pomegranate juice with chicken broth. I used boneless chicken breasts instead of the bone in chicken. My recommendation would be to take others advice and use the boneless chicken thighs. (The chicken was a little dry.) This stew deffinetly could use some brightening at the end. I garnished with some chopped parsley. It was still a little sweet for my taste though so I added a few sliced green olives. I have to say, it was delicious with the olives. It had the sweet/salty thing going on! I served with flatbread and rice trying to decided which would be better. The flat bread was the winner, in my opinion. All in all, I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I've tried several Fesenjan recipes on this site and THIS is the one I've been looking for. This is about as good as it gets, aside from it being cooked by a Persian mom (which by default will always be better). I don't really like chicken legs, but I used them anyways based on the reviews. SO good! I used really fresh walnuts, and I found that after a couple of hours of simmering a lot of oil went to the top. It was easy to blot the top of the stew before serving and that cut back on the grease factor somewhat. This isn't the most aesthetically pleasing dish, but it definitely makes up for its presentation in taste. I will definitely be making this one again! Thanks a lot for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Really easy to make, and delicious. The total winner at a recent dinner party. Taking another reviewer's advice, I made double the portion but kept the pomegranate juice quantity the same, substituting water & vegeta seasoning (as I'd run out of stock). It was moist, tender and delicious. As someone mentioned previously, the appearance and aroma while it's cooking is unusual if you're not used to working with these ingredients. I was worried my guests might find it odd-looking, and I'm sure a few did, but they all loved it. :) I made it with some carrot & onion basmati rice, and some Syrian beans (from AllRecipes) and served it with some heated (and olive-oil brushed) Persian Barbari flatbread which I found in the neighborhood. Fantastic. I accidentally posted this review for the Persian Fesenjan recipe, but it belongs here. (woops)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Wow! I made this with pomegranate paste/Molasses found in Jon's, simmered for about 2 hours over LOW heat, walnuts start releasing its oil by the end, It has a brownish purplish color that taste amazing, don't forget to stir it occasionally. I served it with white rice and sour pickles.(We like tart stuff so I didn't add the sugar either). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I modified this somewhat. I doubled the recipe for a Persian New Years Eve Party and after I began making it realized that I had forgotten to buy double the Pomegranite Juice - so for the additional 4 cups juice that I needed I added Chicken Buillion - so I ended up with 4 cups of each for the double recipe. What a hit this was! (and not purple this time without the extra juice! I had made this dish before using a different recipe that also called for cubed Summer (is that the Orange?) Squash. The Orange Cubes give it a nice touch of color and flavor! People raved! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is one of my favourite dishes. I usually remove the meat from the chicken once it's cooked ... kind of like pulled pork, you just sort of shread up the chicken, then return the meat to the pot. That way there are no bones in the stew, just serve it over your rice and enjoy. Always good with a side of plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Leaves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
First, thank you SO much for sharing this. My friend and I made this the other night, and it came out DELICIOUS! I have had fesenjan before made in my favorite restaurant and by family, but it beats both(although my aunts does come close).We only used 1/4th the pomegranate juice though, because we didn't have anymore >.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I really wanted to like this, but found the tart flavor too strong and overpowering. I wish I had followed other reviews and used half pom juice, half chicen broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Ever since I tried this dish a few weeks back, my husband and friends have been asking for the recipe. I took the advice of others and went with 3 cups of pomegranate juice (freshly juiced because we have a tree) and 1 cup of chicken broth. Also, instead of cardamom I read somewhere online that I could use cinnamon. Since I had cinnamon on hand I used that instead. I also omitted the sugar. I ground the walnuts in a blender and then added the juice, broth and cinnamon. It looked like Pepto Bismol at first but the color changed as it stewed. Also, my first batch was with chicken breast which was good during the first serving but toughened with leftovers. Second batch was with cut up chicken legs but I didn't like the bones. Next time I will have to try something boneless and add up to 2 lbs of chicken to the recipe. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Delicious. My children and husband loved it. It could not have been easier. I used a hand blender to puree the nuts which left a few larger pieces, but when the stew was done I used the hand blender directly in the pot, and it worked perfectly. I let my walnuts get a bit too brown which made the dish a darker color, but it tasted divine. This will definitely be in the rotation. I served it with rice (I like the Brazilian white rice recipe on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States