Pomegranate Stew with Chicken (Khoresh Fesenjan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Personally, I thought this dish was a nice change from the ordinary. Let me tell you what I did differently... I replaced half of the pomegranate juice with chicken broth. I used boneless chicken breasts instead of the bone in chicken. My recommendation would be to take others advice and use the boneless chicken thighs. (The chicken was a little dry.) This stew deffinetly could use some brightening at the end. I garnished with some chopped parsley. It was still a little sweet for my taste though so I added a few sliced green olives. I have to say, it was delicious with the olives. It had the sweet/salty thing going on! I served with flatbread and rice trying to decided which would be better. The flat bread was the winner, in my opinion. All in all, I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I made this because I had about 5 lbs of walnuts I wanted to use and had this in Persian restaraunts in the past. I rated this as three stars because of the amount of oil that comes to the top. It was kind of a mess, but the flavor was authentic to Persian food, so if you're a fan of this, make it. I also used Pom Molasses that I found at our local Middle Eastern grocery and had for another recipe, so it was a good way to use things in my pantry, but wasn't a winner for us. I did end up adding a few tablespoons of sugar in the end because it was so tart that I had to take some of the bite out of it. I also used fresh cardamon pods that I threw in with the walnuts when I ground them in my Cuisinart. Was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
The chicken was very good, but I didn't have enough pomegranite juice. Next time I will make sure I have enough and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This recipe was so easy and so filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Wow...taste just like the restaurant version! I was truly surprised how easy it was to replicate!!! I substituted cinnamon for cardamom. I put mine in the crockpot after cooking the chicken and onions. I did it for 8 hours on low which ended up burning the top, but the rest was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Nobody liked this dish. It was too sweet, it looked odd, and it was grainy. The ground nuts gave it a weird texture, and nobody could stand to eat more then a few bites of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnna Boles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Really easy to make, and delicious. The total winner at a recent dinner party. Taking another reviewer's advice, I made double the portion but kept the pomegranate juice quantity the same, substituting water & vegeta seasoning (as I'd run out of stock). It was moist, tender and delicious. As someone mentioned previously, the appearance and aroma while it's cooking is unusual if you're not used to working with these ingredients. I was worried my guests might find it odd-looking, and I'm sure a few did, but they all loved it. :) I made it with some carrot & onion basmati rice, and some Syrian beans (from AllRecipes) and served it with some heated (and olive-oil brushed) Persian Barbari flatbread which I found in the neighborhood. Fantastic. I accidentally posted this review for the Persian Fesenjan recipe, but it belongs here. (woops)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
What an interesting colour and taste! We didn't add the sugar, and the pomegranate juice was tangy yet still sweet. We added a bit less of the walnuts than called for. I'm sure this recipe could be altered in many ways if you wanted to bulk it up and make it more 'stew-like', by adding potatoes and carrots, however we quite enjoyed it as it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I modified this somewhat. I doubled the recipe for a Persian New Years Eve Party and after I began making it realized that I had forgotten to buy double the Pomegranite Juice - so for the additional 4 cups juice that I needed I added Chicken Buillion - so I ended up with 4 cups of each for the double recipe. What a hit this was! (and not purple this time without the extra juice! I had made this dish before using a different recipe that also called for cubed Summer (is that the Orange?) Squash. The Orange Cubes give it a nice touch of color and flavor! People raved! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
WOW!!!!!!!!!! First I thought the chicken would dry out because of the initial dry cooking. Then I thought the combination smelled kind of weird. I was worried. Then when it was finally done and i tried it... Delicious!!!! My husband is persian and he loved it. Don't forget to serve it with basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States