Pomegranate Stew with Chicken (Khoresh Fesenjan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
The chicken was very good, but I didn't have enough pomegranite juice. Next time I will make sure I have enough and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This recipe was so easy and so filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Wow...taste just like the restaurant version! I was truly surprised how easy it was to replicate!!! I substituted cinnamon for cardamom. I put mine in the crockpot after cooking the chicken and onions. I did it for 8 hours on low which ended up burning the top, but the rest was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Nobody liked this dish. It was too sweet, it looked odd, and it was grainy. The ground nuts gave it a weird texture, and nobody could stand to eat more then a few bites of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnna Boles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Really easy to make, and delicious. The total winner at a recent dinner party. Taking another reviewer's advice, I made double the portion but kept the pomegranate juice quantity the same, substituting water & vegeta seasoning (as I'd run out of stock). It was moist, tender and delicious. As someone mentioned previously, the appearance and aroma while it's cooking is unusual if you're not used to working with these ingredients. I was worried my guests might find it odd-looking, and I'm sure a few did, but they all loved it. :) I made it with some carrot & onion basmati rice, and some Syrian beans (from AllRecipes) and served it with some heated (and olive-oil brushed) Persian Barbari flatbread which I found in the neighborhood. Fantastic. I accidentally posted this review for the Persian Fesenjan recipe, but it belongs here. (woops)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
What an interesting colour and taste! We didn't add the sugar, and the pomegranate juice was tangy yet still sweet. We added a bit less of the walnuts than called for. I'm sure this recipe could be altered in many ways if you wanted to bulk it up and make it more 'stew-like', by adding potatoes and carrots, however we quite enjoyed it as it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I modified this somewhat. I doubled the recipe for a Persian New Years Eve Party and after I began making it realized that I had forgotten to buy double the Pomegranite Juice - so for the additional 4 cups juice that I needed I added Chicken Buillion - so I ended up with 4 cups of each for the double recipe. What a hit this was! (and not purple this time without the extra juice! I had made this dish before using a different recipe that also called for cubed Summer (is that the Orange?) Squash. The Orange Cubes give it a nice touch of color and flavor! People raved! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
WOW!!!!!!!!!! First I thought the chicken would dry out because of the initial dry cooking. Then I thought the combination smelled kind of weird. I was worried. Then when it was finally done and i tried it... Delicious!!!! My husband is persian and he loved it. Don't forget to serve it with basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Amazing! Just made it last night for diinner. A few simple ingredients and a bit of patience - and you'll get yourself a tangy-tasting, unbelievably tender and juicy chicken. My boyfriend is very basic-food guy, and i wasn't sure that he would like this exotic taste, but he just couldn't get enough. I also added some black pepper to give it a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Wow! I made this with pomegranate paste/Molasses found in Jon's, simmered for about 2 hours over LOW heat, walnuts start releasing its oil by the end, It has a brownish purplish color that taste amazing, don't forget to stir it occasionally. I served it with white rice and sour pickles.(We like tart stuff so I didn't add the sugar either). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States