Pomegranate Stew with Chicken (Khoresh Fesenjan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This is really good, but it is unusual. I only had about three cups of pomegranate juice so used water for the last 8 ounces. I also thought it was sweet enough without the sugar so I left it out. I did use a 1/4 of a teaspoon ground cardamom, but might use a 1/2 teaspoon next time. You really do need to simmer it for about 90 minutes if not two hours. I used chicken thighs and the chicken was very tender and moist. Very easy recipe and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Very delicious and the leftovers were equally as impressive. I used brown sugar and really liked the result. Thanks for a terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Very nice, unique flavor. Chicken looked like beef once the pomegranate juice worked it over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I made it without the sugar and half of the pom juice. Fantastic. The meat drips off the bone with a tang that impresses instead of curling the toes and cramping the tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEYAWPER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I made this for the first time tonight. Neither my husband or I have had this before. It was really good. I really didn't change the recipe except to add some garlic. I served it with basmati rice and pita bread. I thought it was a bit sweet by my husband thought it was just right. It also came out a very dark purple almost black color, much different than the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Springfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
yeowza, you have got to try this! my husband and I ate this at a now-closed Persian restaurant in D.C. for our first date, and this brings back the memories. fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I've tried several Fesenjan recipes on this site and THIS is the one I've been looking for. This is about as good as it gets, aside from it being cooked by a Persian mom (which by default will always be better). I don't really like chicken legs, but I used them anyways based on the reviews. SO good! I used really fresh walnuts, and I found that after a couple of hours of simmering a lot of oil went to the top. It was easy to blot the top of the stew before serving and that cut back on the grease factor somewhat. This isn't the most aesthetically pleasing dish, but it definitely makes up for its presentation in taste. I will definitely be making this one again! Thanks a lot for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Absolutely delicious! The flavors all steep together gloriously, and it's got the same distinctive flavor you find in fine Persian restaurant fesenjan. I mixed chicken breasts and thighs, but to my surprise I found the thighs much tastier, as the cooking time was too long for the drier breast meat. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Terrific! Just as I remembered it tasting when prepared by my Iranian friend. I used spoons to shred the chicken, and loved the way it tasted with pita. Also, I added a little pinch of saffron at the end (during the time the basmati cooked). This will now be a staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Even our terribly picky 7 year old liked this. If you're lookng for something different for chicken, give this one a try. The pomegranate gives this a wonderful tangy flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States