Pomegranate Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I consider myself a pretty adventurous eater and a friend gave me four pomegranates. Alas, I wasted two of them on this recipe. I wanted to like it; I wanted to love it, and I wanted to share it with my elderly neighbors for whom I cook every night. Ugh. To me, the pomegranates and the shallots just didn't complement each other. The seeds, which I pretty much expected, were just too crunchy and "raw" tasting. I should have just sprinkled whole pomegranate seeds on my salad. I did eat those pomegranates. I put them in a blender with some frozen fruit and cream and made a smoothie, which would have been fine, but the shallots just kept intruding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This salsa is awesome. It is like a party in your mouth with all of the different flavors, and the lime tortilla chips are the perfect accompaniment. I am not fond of Italian Parsly so left it out and did not miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Mcintosh
Home Town: Albion, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I forgot to cook anything at all. I did not juice the pomegranate either, just took the seeds out and added the rest of the stuff. Nothing was left! Even my 2 year old loved it. Thanks for a novel idea of serving pomegranate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I have not made this recipe yet but I have an easy way to seed a pomegranate. I carefully take off the top of the pomegranate without hitting the seeds. With a very sharp knife I score the fruit into quarters again without cutting too deep. In a large deep bowl, take the pomegranate and pull apart over the bowl. Take each quarter and place it skin side up in one hand with your fingers open. In your other hand, take a wooden spoon and whack the skin side of the pomegranate. The seeds just fall out. Don't be afraid to hit fairly hard. You will be amazed how quickly the seeds fall out and the rind just stays on the skin. You may have to still pick a few seeds out but this is so simple. Have fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paprikasgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
good relish... a good way to get the seeds out, I cut the pomegranate in half and fill a large bowl with cold water and break apart the pieces in the water and push out the seeds with my thumbs as I break it all apart.. the rind and white pieces will float, while the seeds go to the bottom. Scoop off the white stuff and rinse seeds in collander, doing a final cleaning and throw seeds on a couple paper towels. saw this on "Good Eats" w/ Alton Brown
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan E. Hawkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forrest City, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rolesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I was really excited to try this because I love pomegranate and I had six on them sitting on my sink. I used the suggestion of an old fashioned crank grinder to get the juice out and all I got was a mess and crushed seeds. I ended up using a hand citrus juicer, which still made a big mess. Between prep and cleanup it took a good hour to make and then it was just okey with baked chicken. That night both my husband and I had "intestinal issues". Needless to say I won't be making it again. A big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Great with Thanksgiving dinner and a great alternative for diabetics. I used parsley instead of cilantro because a bunch of us don't like cilantro. I didn't juice the pomegranate and just used the seeds. I wish I had juiced it or ground the seeds because the seeds were a bit cruncy. Finally, if you are seeding a pomegranate yourself, it will take a lot longer than the stated 5 minutes! I think it took me 30min to get the seeds out of the pomegranates (though maybe there is a faster technique)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Pomagranates are not items we find in our town store but when they did have it and I found yours recipe ..we asked the store owner if he could get more ..but alas no way ..but when he would get them he would let us know....We thank you for sharing this with us for it was great and yummy on any kind of meat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
A tasty, savory relish, similar to cranberry sauce, but with an oniony, olive oily tang! Perfect for someone with a pomegranate tree who doesn't know what to do with them all. The pomegranate seeds are a little crunchy, like slightly unpopped popcorn. The best way to juice them (and I've tried EVERYTHING) is one of those old-fashioned orange juicers with the lever-- not the kind you turn the orange onto the cone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Black Onion Relish

See how to make the perfect condiment for grilling season.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States