Pomegranate Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
Jelly turned out too soft the first time. I tried again and doubled the pectin and it gelled perfectly! Here is another helpful hint. If you juice your own pomegranates be sure to let the juice rest for 12 to 24 hours so the sediment will go to the bottom. Only use the clear liquid if you want your jelly crystal clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Pomegrante juice can be purchased at the grocery store for even easier preperation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
We made this yummy jelly in no time at all. We used pomegranate juice from the health food store, worked great (saves the mess too!) I noticed in other reviews the jelly didn't set up as they expected. Once I added the pectin, I let it full boil for 1 minute. IT SET PERFECT! Tastes kind of like grape jelly. What a wonderful addition to our holiday jelly making! Thank you Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
Pomegranite Jelly rates highest with my family and I make several jams and jellies. This recipe is quick and easy and "no fail". Thanks Allrecipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This has a wonderful flavor! I was a little worried about how runny it seemed, but when it was totally cooled, the texture was a nice soft texture. Easy to spread, and only a tiny bit runny. Thanks for a wonderful recipe! This is my all time favorite jelly! It's going to be this year's Christmas gift along with some fresh baked bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
My friend and I made this. We didn't have a "hot water canner" and improvised with this metal thingy with a handle that we put at the bottom of a big stew pot. I would recommend investing in a canner, however since we burned our fingertips a bunch! Other than that this came out VERY GOOD! We followed the instructions on the liquid pectin stuff just to make sure it came out properly set. That meant keeping it at a rolling boil for a full minute. In fact, after we put in the two pouches of fruit pectin it stopped boiling! AHHH! we waited until it boiled again, then timed it. We thought we ruined it but it was perfect! ***UPDATE*** I bought a canner (SO MUCH EASIER THAN LAST YEAR) and made this recipe again....it came out AMAZING, AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Lovely flavor. I was so impressed I used every single pomegranate on my tree to make this recipe. Granted, I only had a couple dozen fruit on the tree, but never the less all were invested in this delicious jelly. I did as others had suggested and used the powdered pectin, mixing it first with the juices, bringing to a boil and then adding the sugar and again bringing it to a boil. As far as juicing the poms.... bottom line- wear gloves! The lovely purple color stains but the following day your hands will actually look a deadly green- quite impressive. I juiced with a citrus juicer but found that a lot of the fruit did not get squashed so what was left I put in the blender and pulsed it a bit and then put everything through a strainer. The fresh fruit juice is a bit more tart than the 100% juice found in our grocery store but once mixed with the lemon and the sugar really has a delightful taste. I am planning on including the jelly made in Christmas gift baskets- it was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
An easy quick, delicious jelly! I followed the review of Sabrina and boiled it for a full minute and it DID set perfectly. The only thing I would change is perhaps cutting a little back on the sugar because over powers the pomegranate taste a little but then again that's a matter of opinion. It's quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe - it was quick and easy. I played with the juice a bit and found that it is even better with the pomegranate-cherry juice that POM Wonderful makes... I liked the added flavor of the cherry to my jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I made this jelly for an event that called for an "unusual" food. It was wonderful with homemade "biscuit bites"! I bought bottled juice from the store and used powdered pectin. I also skipped the lemon squeezing and used 6 TBS. of lemon juice from a bottle. The jelly set up just right. My grandson thinks I should sell the jelly! I will probably make this jelly again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Concord Grape Jelly

See how to make the perfect jelly for PBJs.

How to Seed a Pomegranate

See the simple, mess-free way to remove the seeds from pomegranates.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States