Pomegranate Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
Pomegranite Jelly rates highest with my family and I make several jams and jellies. This recipe is quick and easy and "no fail". Thanks Allrecipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
I used this recipe to win 3rd place at the Kern County (CA) Fair. The color and flavor are great, but the texture is a little off. It didn't set properly. Don't know if I cooked it too long or not long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
What a beautiful looking, crystal clear jelly! It has a mild flavor that is hard to place... it's not strawberry, not cherry, not raspberry, not cranberry. I don't know if I followed the recipe correctly, but my jelly didn't gel as much as I would have liked. I would use a little bit more "gel" or less juice the next time. The best way to juice these puppies is an old-fashioned lever style juicer-- the kind you use to juice orange/lemon/lime quarters. (I think they use them at Braum's Ice Cream to make limeades) Peel the pomegranate under water to avoid squirting yourself with the juice, which stains like crazy. The seeds sink and the rind floats. Break off a quarter hunk and put it carefully in the juicer and squish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
We made this yummy jelly in no time at all. We used pomegranate juice from the health food store, worked great (saves the mess too!) I noticed in other reviews the jelly didn't set up as they expected. Once I added the pectin, I let it full boil for 1 minute. IT SET PERFECT! Tastes kind of like grape jelly. What a wonderful addition to our holiday jelly making! Thank you Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
Jelly turned out too soft the first time. I tried again and doubled the pectin and it gelled perfectly! Here is another helpful hint. If you juice your own pomegranates be sure to let the juice rest for 12 to 24 hours so the sediment will go to the bottom. Only use the clear liquid if you want your jelly crystal clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Pomegrante juice can be purchased at the grocery store for even easier preperation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
It's great for pancakes, it didn't jell, more like pancake syrup. But it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This has a wonderful flavor! I was a little worried about how runny it seemed, but when it was totally cooled, the texture was a nice soft texture. Easy to spread, and only a tiny bit runny. Thanks for a wonderful recipe! This is my all time favorite jelly! It's going to be this year's Christmas gift along with some fresh baked bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I definitely liked the taste, but I had the same problem everyone else had--it doesn't jell, and after thinking about the canning process more closely, the reason is that you need to allow pectin ample time to heat at its boiling point. Tried it a second time, and this is what I suggest.... Use the box of powdered pectin (1.75 ounce) and add the pectin with the juices. Bring to a boil, THEN add the sugar and bring to a second boil for about a minute. This goes hand in hand with the pectin manufacturer's guidelines (who I called).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Josee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
An easy quick, delicious jelly! I followed the review of Sabrina and boiled it for a full minute and it DID set perfectly. The only thing I would change is perhaps cutting a little back on the sugar because over powers the pomegranate taste a little but then again that's a matter of opinion. It's quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Concord Grape Jelly

See how to make the perfect jelly for PBJs.

How to Seed a Pomegranate

See the simple, mess-free way to remove the seeds from pomegranates.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States