Pomegranate Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is wonderful. I made it as Christmas presents for out of town family. Very easy, very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Church Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
First time making jelly. Easy & simple to follow - I used Pomegranate juice from refridgerator aisle. DON'T leave the kitchen when waiting for juice/sugar to boil - mine boiled over while I stepped away for 5 minutes. Let the mix boil for 1 min with the pectin. Family raved. Beautiful bottled, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hancock, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I made this as Christmas gifts last year and everyone loved it. First attempt at jelly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
My boyfriend's mother made divine pomegranate jelly from scratch. She has since passed away and we cannot find her recipe (if it exists in written form!). This was somewhat close to it. I used POM juice (expensive!) instead of real juiced pomegranate and that may be where I went wrong. I used a bit of bottled lemon juice b/c I didn't have a lemon juicer and I was afraid I didn't get as much juice as I think I should have fr. the real lemons. Overall I added a bit over 1/2 cup. I reduced the sugar to 7 cups and it was still a bit too sweet. Overall, brings back good memories and I'll make my final judgement when I spread it on a biscuit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I also had trouble with this jelly setting. I even added a little more pectin than it called for. I guess I will likely use it for pancakes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
My friend and I made this. We didn't have a "hot water canner" and improvised with this metal thingy with a handle that we put at the bottom of a big stew pot. I would recommend investing in a canner, however since we burned our fingertips a bunch! Other than that this came out VERY GOOD! We followed the instructions on the liquid pectin stuff just to make sure it came out properly set. That meant keeping it at a rolling boil for a full minute. In fact, after we put in the two pouches of fruit pectin it stopped boiling! AHHH! we waited until it boiled again, then timed it. We thought we ruined it but it was perfect! ***UPDATE*** I bought a canner (SO MUCH EASIER THAN LAST YEAR) and made this recipe again....it came out AMAZING, AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Lovely flavor. I was so impressed I used every single pomegranate on my tree to make this recipe. Granted, I only had a couple dozen fruit on the tree, but never the less all were invested in this delicious jelly. I did as others had suggested and used the powdered pectin, mixing it first with the juices, bringing to a boil and then adding the sugar and again bringing it to a boil. As far as juicing the poms.... bottom line- wear gloves! The lovely purple color stains but the following day your hands will actually look a deadly green- quite impressive. I juiced with a citrus juicer but found that a lot of the fruit did not get squashed so what was left I put in the blender and pulsed it a bit and then put everything through a strainer. The fresh fruit juice is a bit more tart than the 100% juice found in our grocery store but once mixed with the lemon and the sugar really has a delightful taste. I am planning on including the jelly made in Christmas gift baskets- it was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I made this jelly for an event that called for an "unusual" food. It was wonderful with homemade "biscuit bites"! I bought bottled juice from the store and used powdered pectin. I also skipped the lemon squeezing and used 6 TBS. of lemon juice from a bottle. The jelly set up just right. My grandson thinks I should sell the jelly! I will probably make this jelly again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe - it was quick and easy. I played with the juice a bit and found that it is even better with the pomegranate-cherry juice that POM Wonderful makes... I liked the added flavor of the cherry to my jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Very good recipe. With full rolling boil there was no problem with jelly setting up. I cut the sugar down by a cup as the jam was to sweet. It overpowered the flavor of the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gold Beach, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Concord Grape Jelly

See how to make the perfect jelly for PBJs.

How to Seed a Pomegranate

See the simple, mess-free way to remove the seeds from pomegranates.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States