Pomegranate Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I love pomegranate anything so I figured this looked good. I read a lot of the reviews and decided to modify a smidge. I juiced my pomegranate in my juicer rind and all.... saved so much time and came out just fine. It really separated all the rind and seeds and left only the beautiful (costly) juice. I decreased the sugar to 6 cups , used about 1/3 of a cup of bottled organic lemon juice and a pack and a half of powdered pectin. SURE Jell is the brand I used. I had no problem with it setting. It is not a super tight jelly but not liquid either and I did notice that it took a good 24 hours for it to set up well so maybe patience is the key. I gave this as gifts and have had rave reviews. They are already asking for more. So I suggest a double batch! Thanks for posting this recipe..it was easy and by far the best jelly I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Very easy to make, and VERY tasty! I, too, made the changes everyone else suggested - 1.75 oz. pkg. pectin and add that before the sugar. It still didn't seem to gel quite as well as some other recipes I've made, but the taste is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, found it to be wonderful, as is. Now we have a new tradition based on a tree in the backyard. Yummy jelly for all. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Great Jelly and easy too, once the pomegranates were juiced. I added too much lemon, so decided to call this batch, Lemony Pomegranate Jelly, still pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I used 3 oz. dry pectin for the 4 cups of juice and it never did set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was so good,it was very easy for me to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Makes the best Pom jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I've made it with fresh and with bottled juice and I can taste the difference. The fresh juice is so much better! If you use fresh...Use a juicer. I shuck all the fruit from our tree and then run the kernels through a conventional juicer and it's easy, you get all the juice and the mess is way more manageable. So far pomegranate has been the easiest and the most delicious and unusual jelly we've made.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kati

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I gave this an average rating because we didn't follow exact instructions. Cut down the sugar by a cup & it was still sweet enough & also boiled for 1 minute (as box instructed). Almost set up but not completely. Will be good Christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I was a little unsure about this recipe but i made it anyway...i love pomegranates...and I am sooo glad that I did! I did use juice from langers...I just don't have the time to deal with the real fruit...and i had no problems with it setting. I also used powder pectin even though it calls for liquid...i still didn't have a problem with setting. It's beautiful and fabulous! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULY2501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Concord Grape Jelly

See how to make the perfect jelly for PBJs.

How to Seed a Pomegranate

See the simple, mess-free way to remove the seeds from pomegranates.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States