Pomegranate Feta Salad with Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This salad is DELICIOUS. I used fresh spinach with chopped romaine lettuce instead of the packaged bag greens. I also added a little more olive oil and salt to the vinagarette because it was a little too tart when I tasted it. It also seemed to make an awful lot, so I didn't pour the entire amount on. Pomegranates were out of season when I made this, so I used sliced fresh peaches instead, and it worked wonderfully. The salad was a HUGE hit at my mom's birthday dinner, and everyone went back for second helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Great recipe, my husbands first intro to pomegranate and he loved it. I did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debi210

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I made this last night for family and friends. Everyone loved it. I hate when people change the recipe, but it was REALLY tart, so I doubled everything but the lemon juice and zest when making the dressing. A very different salad! It was time consuming getting the seeds out of the pomegranate, be careful not to squirt on good clothes....I think the juice stains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I threw in some sliced red onion and twice as much pomegranate seeds and feta. my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
The dressing was good, but way too tart. I like sour things, but I only put 1/3 of the lemon juice called for and it was as sour as I could ever imagine wanting. The trick to dressing is to mix all ingredients other than the oil, then drizzle the oil in very slowly, whisking vigorously as it drizzles. This keeps the dressing from separating. The salad was good, but the pomegranate seeds fell to the bottom of the bowl and it was an effort to get some in each bite. My DH and I didn't think they really added anything to the salad, so for the leftovers we left out the pomegranate and added mandarin oranges and sugar-coated pecans. We both thought that went better with the feta and tart dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I didn't like the dressing on this salad... It was way too tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I didn't make the salad, but I am rating the recipe for the dressing. I wanted a lemon vinaigrette to marinate some blanched, chilled asparagus. It was delicious! I don't know about the "too tart" that other reviewers mentioned, it didn't seem that way to me. I guess it could depend on the size of the lemon and the quality of the vinegar could vary too. I loved the fresh taste the lemon zest brought to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Great! This salad is bright, crisp and fresh! The dressing is tad tart. To remedy this I recommend using the zest and juice of only 1/2 lemon and adding 2 Tbsp. honey to the dressing. Some chopped walnuts rounded out the salad nicely. This salad would go great with holiday dinners since pomegranates are in season then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Very tasty. I already had all these ingredients, save a few. I used spinach and romaine. I also kinda made the emphasis on dijon for the dressing, which came out pretty yummy. I also put avocado and fresh orange tomato. it was gooood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
We made this today and must say it looks very pretty with all the colors. The texture is interesting with the pomegranate. The dressing was a little too tart for us. I think next time I will not add the lemon. It's bitey enough with the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States