Pomegranate Feta Salad with Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
A easy salad to make, and very tasty. If you don't want to make the vinigrette, just use a store brand lite salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I have been making this salad for many years and it is always a hit and the recipe is requested too many times to mention BUT the only exception to my recipe is that I use 2 tablespoons of maple syrup,1 tablespoon of red wine vinegar and 1/2 tsp of oregano same amount of dijon and olive oil. the feta is reduced to 1/2 cup and add 1/2 cup of toasted pine nuts.Try it you will like it alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Is it ok to eat the seeds in the pomegranates? I always wondered, I usually spit them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goodbar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
YUMMM!!! My husbands comment was "This is the best salad on the planet!" I had just learned how to easily seperate the seeds/fruit from the pith of a pomegranate and so I had about 1 1/2 cups to do something with. Always before, I had just dug them out one at a time so had only eaten them like that. With a quantity ready to go, I decided to see what kind of recipe I could find to enjoy them. This looked and sounded so yummy, and we like feta. I was amazed to find that I was out of feta (that hasn't happened in years) so I used fresh parmesean. I'm sure it wasn't quite as good as it will be with feta, but it was wonderful! My husband usually only eats ranch dressing, but he loved this! Makes me wish pomegranates were available year around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Rating: 4.5 stars. I prepared this salad for guests recently, using many of the suggestions from others. I added chilled mandarin oranges and candied, toasted walnuts. I enjoyed the addition of red onion, but served it on the side as not everyone eats raw onion. I do not think the type of greens makes much difference; I used a combination of Romaine and spinach. My husband declared it "One of the best salads I've ever eaten." HOWEVER, the dressing needs work . . . as others have stated WAY TOO MUCH LEMON (serve as presented on Valentine's Day if you want your honey to really pucker up). I had to play with mine for quite awhile, even using honey-mustard instead of Dijon and the balsalmic vinegar and adding LOTS of honey. Sorry, I can't accurately recall proportions. Eventually, I put all dressing in my blender, added MORE honey and some sugar. It scared me so that I served the dressing on the side in a small pitcher instead of dressing fully on the salad. Conclusion: this salad is FANTASTIC IF you can get the dressing down. Once mine reached the "sweet-n-sour" kind of flavor it was excellent. And, with the pomegranate seeds, oranges, deep greens . . . it's beautiful in its presentation. Definitely a keeper . . . but I need to work on the dressing! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keyboardlady
Home Town: Reese, Michigan, USA
Living In: Inkom, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Great, easy and attractive salad. good for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Made with leaf lettuce and an herbed feta. It was tasty for such a simple salad. The dressing was enjoyable as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This salad was very good, I didn't follow the directions for the dressing based on other reviews saying it was too tangy, so I used less vinegar and lemon and more mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocktailqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Because of the number of reviews noting the tartness, I halved the lemon juice and used Meyer lemons, which are sweeter. Also used a good balsamic vinegar, because I prefer the taste. I love how the flavor bursts in your mouth, when you bite into the pomegranate seeds! Next time I'll add walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Good salad, great taste. Served it with BLTs for dinner but next time I might add grilled chicken to the top and serve it as the entree. I cut the amount of lemon to 1/2 and added 2 tsp of honey to the dressing as suggested and it wasn't too sweet or too tart - just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States