Pomanders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Good with several tweaks. I measured carefully and followed the steps as written. The result was a very dry and crumbly mixture that would not hold shape or sprinkles. I added an additional 2/3 teaspoon or (pure) orange extract and multiple tablespoons of water, one at a time until the dough would hold shape. The taste was good, and I will probably make them again with modifications described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I used real orange extract and it was overpowering so i doubled the rest of the ingredients added vanilla, cocoa and more karo and some cinamon. I just don't like the orange taste. It is like that chocolate you get in the box of chocolates that has orange cream when you would have rather had a caramel or a nut chocolate. However, this was upon first test. The recipe says they are best after 2 weeks, so i will repost if the orange goes away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Bures

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This was my favorite as a child. My mother, who as a young bride in the 1950's, found it in a newspaper! She would make Pomanders every year just for me. :-) One variation from above is that she would crush the vanilla wafers until very fine. (She used a blender and crushed the cookies in small batches.) The same was done with pecans. Today I crush the ingredients as fine as I can with a food processor. One final note, we rolled them in red or green colored sugar (red made them pomanders and the green for Christmas!) They were stored in one tin for each color. I now make them for grandnephews and nieces. They don't expect smooth creamy "rum balls" but rather, those wonderful "textured" orange chocolate things! They know they are POMANDERS! Enjoy the tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Sometimes naysayers have not made the recipe according to directions, they add this or that or make substitutions so the recipe turns out all wrong. These are wonderful if the recipe is followed correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Eh, I was not impressed. Flavors didn't appreciably improve after aging for nearly 2 weeks. Pretty much a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
So I am a skeptic, especially where AR is concerned- I read tons of reviews before trying a recipe. Made these 10 days ago, wondered if they would be as good as the reviews. Tasted the first one today, and these are simpy amazing! I wish I'd made 3 x as much! I used Fiori di Sicilia from KAF- about 1/4 tsp. and 1 tsp vanilla. These things are simply amazing! Found some pretty gold metallic fancy sugar to roll in and they look like chocolate dusted with gold. Making more for New Year's TODAY!!! Don't wait to try these- they will be a new family favorite! Edit: After giving these on my Christmas cookie plates, the consensus is that it's better to roll them in plain cocoa than any sugar- cocoa deepens the flavor and the texture is better. Still love these, just with cocoa not sprinkles or sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Not a knock-out. Probably won't make again. Expected them to be tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Davidson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This was a great recipe, and I had a number of people ask me for the recipe and we're impressed with how simple they are to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HTaylor1987

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I made these a few times for different holiday parties, they went fast!! I've learned to make double batches!! Had to hide them from the kids, even though they helped make them! I also used pecans, they're our favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States