Polynesian Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is a great alternative to the heavy mayonnaise-coleslaw. I used green bell peppers instead of red (which was also good) and I toasted the sesame seeds before I mixed them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chetyre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This was delicious! I also used natural peanut butter, so I added approx. 1 tbsp of honey to increase the sweetness. I also left out the chives, but I didn't really miss them. Finally, I used a bagged cabbage mix that contained carrots; they really added to the coleslaw's texture, flavor, and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Really good and satisfying. I tried to make this recipe according to the directions, then realized I didn't buy the red peppers so subbed carrots, which were good, but I think the recipe as written would be even better. Still, it was a 5 star recipe. Use natural peanut butter if you can-it really is easier to work with and tastes more like peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Tasty!! Made exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I really liked this recipe and thought it was a great alternative to the mayo-based coleslaws. I took it to a family gathering of about 20 people and most of them turned their noses up at it so I'll be making it just for myself in the future! NOTE: I, too, upgraded this to 5 stars after letting it sit for the flavors to blend. I think it takes a bit to get used to for people who are expecting a more traditional coleslaw flavor, but this one is highly addicting! I've made it several times since finding the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRussell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Super easy to prepare and even better tasting knowing it's healthier than normal slaw! :-) I used a bag of preshredded coleslaw and it was that much faster! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Although I didn't follow the recipe exactly, I'm still sure it's worth 5 stars and even more. I hate mayo based coleslaw, and love peanut sauces. So this was perfect. I needed a salad dressing using rice vinegar and peanut butter and found this. I didn't have cilantro, chives or red bell peppers, so I actually used pico de gallo and it worked wonderfully. I used the sauce on baby spinach and topped with the sesame seeds. I will definately make this again, next time using cabbage. But I think I will keep using pico de gallo to avoid the work of chopping the veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
very flavorful. i used sriracha sauce in the place of tabasco and didn't have rice vinegar. it still tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brossettelewis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
(I used a Chinese rice-based cooking wine I've had forever, red onion instead of the chives, and left out the red bell peppers. I also used natural peanut butter which is not as thick and unmanageable.) This was great, and my husband loved it as he loves most savory things. I was actually looking for something with a sweetish tang to it, and when I actually made it realized there wasn't anything sweet in it, but it was still delicious, and I love finding recipes with so few calories and fat in them that are still so tasty. I think you could adapt the ingredients with a little brown sugar and honey for a sweeter dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
what a wonderful alternative to traditional coleslaw. Very delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Hyde Park, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States