Polynesian Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Really good and satisfying. I tried to make this recipe according to the directions, then realized I didn't buy the red peppers so subbed carrots, which were good, but I think the recipe as written would be even better. Still, it was a 5 star recipe. Use natural peanut butter if you can-it really is easier to work with and tastes more like peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
So in my search for satisfying "diet" food, I wanted new salads to eat. This is soooo flavorfull and yummy, I actually crave it every week. I would reccomend OMITTING the salt. It is plenty salty enough using the soy sauce. I would also recommend slicing (very thin) your cabbage rather then buying the pre bagged stuff. It adds more flavor and juiciness. I also add my dressing right to my bowl of salad right before I eat it.I am going to start using Braggs liquid amino acids. It has 1/3 of the sodium then soy sauce and is actually good for you and tasts the same. Look for it in the health food section by the cider vinager.PLEASE, PLEASE make this. You wont be sorry! I make it at least 2 times a week, and I am not sick of it yet! Also, add the cilantro righ to the dressing, otherwise it stick to the sides of the bowl instead of being"IN" the salad. Enjoy friends. I know you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christophers Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Wonderful! Made this for a gathering this past Saturday and everyone went nuts for it. I, too, used the natural peanut butter. I also used aged tamari soy sauce which has much more flavor than the standard supermarket brands. This was served with sliced pork tenderloin and was the perfect accompanyment. Will make this one again and again. Also, followed everyone's advice and made this the morning of my event instead of an hour before. The longer it sits the better!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chicken
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I have made this fou times in two weeks from the cabbage in my garden. It is so good as a side dish for pork dishes and is also a nice change from the standard coleslaw recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Wow! This is so good....I made this but used a bag of coleslaw mix, about 4 cups. Cut the dressing ingredients in half. I didn't hve the bell peppers. I used a handful of match stick carrots, no cilantro or sesame seeds (personal taste). My friend came of to taste test it with me and we both loved it. I sent 2/3's of it home with her because my husband won't eat cabbage. She called later to tell me her mother loved it too. Now I don't have enough fo myself. No prob though, it is so easy to make. I'll just make another half batch and keep it all to myself! Thank you so much Dawn, for the new addition to my reipe box. This will be going with me to the next pot luck dinner. I'm sure there will be lots of guests wanting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I am a huge fan of both coleslaw and peanut butter but this slaw was not one of my favourites. It was too peanutty and just didn't have the crisp freshness of traditional mayo coleslaw. I'm still on the hunt for a more nutritious coleslaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I usually make the Angie's dad's coleslaw on this site, but this is a lovely change. Nice asian flavors.This was very tasty. I did not have chives or sesame seeds. I added 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil and a tablespoon of splenda & a couple of teaspoons of lime juice. I hope it holds up for tomorrow. if it does, I will give it 5 stars;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was absolutely delicious and pretty easy to make. I added more hot sauce and omitted the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I was really excited about this recipe since I like all the ingredients it calls for, but boy was this disappointing. I had some fresh cilantro that I did not realize had gone bad so I omitted this from the original recipe. Maybe that's what it was missing? It just tasted really really salty and very boring. My husband and I even tried it the next day to see if the flavors had developed but it was still not very good. I have no plans to try this one again but if you want to go for it, I would strongly advise tasting before adding any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I was looking for a cabbage recipe to use up the cabbage I had. I did a few things differently due to personal taste (cilantro tastes like soap to me so I didn't use it, I don't like things too salty so I omitted the 1/2 tsp. of salt), but otherwise followed the recipe. Tasty! I almost felt like the sauce was missing something, which is why I gave it four stars instead of five. But I would make it again as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kumquatgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States