Polynesian Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
We though this was ok but didn't taste good until I added some sugar... Not bad, just not what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was tasty. I didn't have any red bell peppers so I used red pepper flakes and added soem shredded carrots for cruch. I used a powedered peanut butter product to cut the calories and fat back. I think next time I'll add some broccoli slaw to this as well as more red pepper flakes and some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was good but I wasn't "wow"ed by it. I needed a side dish for a Polynesian / Tiki themed party and this fit the bill. For overall taste and everyday menus, though, think I'll stick to traditional coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This was really good but next time I think I'll throw in some pineapple or mandarine oranges to give it more polynesian flair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
not too shabby... with a unique taste and a nice kick :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Wonderful! Made this for a gathering this past Saturday and everyone went nuts for it. I, too, used the natural peanut butter. I also used aged tamari soy sauce which has much more flavor than the standard supermarket brands. This was served with sliced pork tenderloin and was the perfect accompanyment. Will make this one again and again. Also, followed everyone's advice and made this the morning of my event instead of an hour before. The longer it sits the better!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I usually make the Angie's dad's coleslaw on this site, but this is a lovely change. Nice asian flavors.This was very tasty. I did not have chives or sesame seeds. I added 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil and a tablespoon of splenda & a couple of teaspoons of lime juice. I hope it holds up for tomorrow. if it does, I will give it 5 stars;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This was delicious! I also used natural peanut butter, so I added approx. 1 tbsp of honey to increase the sweetness. I also left out the chives, but I didn't really miss them. Finally, I used a bagged cabbage mix that contained carrots; they really added to the coleslaw's texture, flavor, and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Super easy to prepare and even better tasting knowing it's healthier than normal slaw! :-) I used a bag of preshredded coleslaw and it was that much faster! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I originally gave this 3 stars, but am now upgrading it to 4 after the coleslaw had about 2 hours to hang out. Note: I did not have chives, red pepper, or sesame seeds and I added the juice of one lime and about 1/2 tsp. honey to perk it up a little. I used a natural peanut butter that doesn' have any added sugar, so that may have made a difference in the taste/texture. My hubby said he'd like to have this again. I am happy to find a lower fat/higher protein coleslaw recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States