Polvorones de Canele (Cinnamon Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
I loved these as posted, then I made some changes to try to duplicate the real Spanish version of these delightful cookies, but many will probably be turned off by the LARD. Substitute lard for the butter, double the cinnamon in the cookie, and roll in sesame seeds instead of the sugar/cinnamon coating. They should come out super soft like fine sand and just hold together. In Spain they are traditionally wrapped after baking and you SQUEEZE the cookie before unwrapping so it holds together. Forget Chocolate Chip or Peanut Butter Cookies, THIS IS WHAT COOKIES ARE ALL ABOUT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
A not too sweet little cinnamon cookie just perfect for a little something with a cup of coffee. Don't be afraid to coat the cookie well with the sugar/cinnamon mixture and be careful not to overbake. It should be a soft, tender cookie that just melts in your mouth. Not good however, for those who need a heavy sugar kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
These actually turned out really good...I tasted them when they were warm and I was ready to throw them away. But when my husband got home, he tried them and loved them. I tried them again and these cookies are definitely cookies that need to be cooled down before eaten. After they cooled down, they tasted just what I expected them to taste. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freedom, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Fast, easy, and delicious! I made these late at night for my daughter's Spanish class the next morning.....she said everybody loved them.....the teacher said if she'd make him another batch, he'd give her an A on her final! I made it just like the recipe says and they were perfect....melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I rated a 4 instead of a 5 because it just doesn't say "WOW" to me but it is still very MARVELOUS! Honestly, I think it's just a personal preference thing....that's why you should read more than one review right? Followed the recipe exactly and turned out great..HOWEVER... like others have said, it is not necessary to make that large of the cinnamon mixture. Just make the balls first..., eye your cookie balls and just guess logically how much sugar you should use...it's pretty obvious not a whole cup. Weird how people complain or like that it's doughy. People shouldn't even mention that! It's obvious that you should've baked it longer or less based your preferences. My first batch turned out dry (baked too long) and so my second batch I baked it shorter. My point is...this cookie CAN be dry. This recipe is worthy of making again in the future! It IS one of those melt-in-your-mouth type cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
The recipes did not produce 24 cookies, but they were still very good. I would add a little granulated sugar to the poweredsugar/cinammon mixture that you roll the balls in to make them a bit tastier, but I really liked them. Softening the butter at the beginning of the recipe really helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
these are very good, will definitely be on my Christmas list next year! I doubled the vanilla and cinnamon in the cookies, next time use 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 cup icing sugar for rolling, 1 tbsp scoop made 32 cookies, 15 minutes was perfect, tossed cookies in leftover sugar and cinnamon mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
Anytime I go to Texas I search out these cookies from local Mexican bakeries. I tried this recipe and it was just like those in the Lone Star State. I hate creaming butter, but in this case it's worth it! I"m so glad to finally make these in my own home. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Fantastic, easy cookies. However, I only used 1/2 a cup of confectioners sugar for the coating and still had a lot extra. I also doubled the cinnamon all around and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This is an overall good recipe because it does not require milk or eggs,both of which I don't have in my fridge at the moment. There needs to be a bit more flour in the recipe, and the cinnamon sugar mixture should be cut in half. Other than these two small problems, the cookies are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States