Polvorones de Canele (Cinnamon Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
These were great and super easy to make! I work in an after school program and thought this would be an easy, quick recipe for my kids to make. They really enjoyed making them and enjoyed eating them even more. I snagged one before they were gone and they were very tasty, not overly sweet at all. The only thing is we had a lot of extra sugar / cinnamon mix left over after we dipped all of our cookies, I think halfing it would work best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Fabulous shortbread cookie, lightly sweet. Great with tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
They are similar to a dry snickerdoodle. I like the buttery, almost flaky texture, and the look very pretty after baking. My classmates approved as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
The ONLY thing I changed was that I used 1 & 1/4 cups of flour instead of 1 & 1/2. Baked for 15 minutes........WONDERFUL!!!! My mother in law came over while they were baking and the first thing she said after "wow" was "melts in your mouth".....Just as described!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erika80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Good recipe, to make them sweeter I added 1/3 c white sugar and 1/3 c brown sugar. Also following the suggestions of others I decreased the sugar cinnamon mix for the rolling part and added brown and white sugar to that as well. Overall, mine turned out delish and went GREAT warmed up with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Light and Flaky! We made these for my daughters Fiesta in school. She said her whole class liked them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
These were easy to make and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Oh these are amazing, i added nutmeg to the mixture though, and brown sugar instead of granulated sugar to the final coating. Just remember, that when you form the balls, dont handle too much, because the butter will melt too fast and when baking, go flat instead of retaining their round shape. Roll between palms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by October Fest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seri Kembangan, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
These are sooo good! They just melt in your mouth. I added a little extra cinnamon to the dough, and had to use another 1/2c flour to get the dough firm enough to roll. Also used 3T powdered sugar and 1tsp cinnamon for the topping, and still had a little bit left over. Will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I love these cookies! The only change I made was to increase the cinnamon in the cookie to 1 tsp. I decided to do half the batch rolled in the powdered sugar/cinnamon mixture and the other half rolled in sesame seeds (thanks to oz's comments) and it made for two pretty different, outstanding cookies. I love sesame so I liked the sesame ones a lot, but most of the people I had try them preferred the ones without the sesame seeds. Although my husband thought they were "dry", I don't require all of my cookies to be chewy and gooey, so I loved the texture. The "melt in your mouth" description in some of the comments is completely accurate. A lovely, light cookie, made with just a few ingredients that I generally have on hand. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States