Polvorones de Canele (Cinnamon Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I made these for a Mexican themed dinner party & everyone LOVED them! They are simple to make, simple taste, but still very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Very yummy-soft, melt in your mouth! The only thing I would do differently is to recoat the cookies when still warm as this forms a wonderful cinnamon icing on the cookies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Awesome!!! This recipe was so easy and great for high altitude. I had to find something to bake and bring to work for a 'theme' pot-luck and this was a big hit. I did not make any adjustments and the worked perfectly. Had to keep an eye on them to make sure I did not over bake. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I am in love with these cookies!! They taste just like the biscochos at the farmer's market. I add cayenne to the coating and re-coat them after they have cooled. Don't try to substitute margarine, they will be chewy. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Truth Or Consequences, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
these are very good, will definitely be on my Christmas list next year! I doubled the vanilla and cinnamon in the cookies, next time use 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 cup icing sugar for rolling, 1 tbsp scoop made 37 cookies, 15 minutes was perfect, tossed cookies in leftover sugar and cinnamon mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I thought they were Great! but it needed a bit more flour because the dough would stick to my hands but other than that they were great. I also doubled the cinnamon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Wonderful! I followed the directions exactly and was worried they would burn cooking them for 20 minutes. However they turned out brilliantly. Rich, delicate and melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I picked this recipe because it seemed easy in terms of both labor and ingredients. I cooked them an extra 5 minutes and they came up very light, some might find them dry but I think they are meant to be light and crumbly. The one odd thing was that the sugar coating ended up separating and damp. I am not sure how this happened but they are still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unerenarde

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I made these thinking they would be a good subsitute for snowballs (Mexican wedding cake) cookies. They really aren't like those, though. These are like a shortbread, very melt in the mouth consistency. I would add more cinnamon in the dough next time because I really like cinnamon and as written its pretty subtle. You could use the abundant cinnamon/sugar to roll the cookies in after they are baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Wow, these cookies really do taste better than they look! I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfect. They give new meaning to the phrase "melt in your mouth." Great recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States