Polvorones de Canele (Cinnamon Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Good recipe, to make them sweeter I added 1/3 c white sugar and 1/3 c brown sugar. Also following the suggestions of others I decreased the sugar cinnamon mix for the rolling part and added brown and white sugar to that as well. Overall, mine turned out delish and went GREAT warmed up with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Light and Flaky! We made these for my daughters Fiesta in school. She said her whole class liked them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
These were easy to make and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Oh these are amazing, i added nutmeg to the mixture though, and brown sugar instead of granulated sugar to the final coating. Just remember, that when you form the balls, dont handle too much, because the butter will melt too fast and when baking, go flat instead of retaining their round shape. Roll between palms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by October Fest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seri Kembangan, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
These are sooo good! They just melt in your mouth. I added a little extra cinnamon to the dough, and had to use another 1/2c flour to get the dough firm enough to roll. Also used 3T powdered sugar and 1tsp cinnamon for the topping, and still had a little bit left over. Will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I love these cookies! The only change I made was to increase the cinnamon in the cookie to 1 tsp. I decided to do half the batch rolled in the powdered sugar/cinnamon mixture and the other half rolled in sesame seeds (thanks to oz's comments) and it made for two pretty different, outstanding cookies. I love sesame so I liked the sesame ones a lot, but most of the people I had try them preferred the ones without the sesame seeds. Although my husband thought they were "dry", I don't require all of my cookies to be chewy and gooey, so I loved the texture. The "melt in your mouth" description in some of the comments is completely accurate. A lovely, light cookie, made with just a few ingredients that I generally have on hand. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I had to add an extra 1/2 cup of flour to roll these in balls. But very good. Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I love these cookies! The only thing I had to change was to add a bit more flour so I could roll them in balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
These were just ok to me. They needed a lot more cinnamon flavor and the texture was strange. Another user stated it best-like sand crumbling and melting on your tongue. If you are looking for a savory, chewy cookie then keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiekakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
For those of you (such as me) that haven't had "Polvorones de Canele" before, they are like a tasty cross between shortbread and snickerdoodles. Next time, I'm definately doubling the recipe as it doesn't make many and I'm using more cinnamon (1.5 tsp)in the batter for more flavor. As another reviewer suggested, definately watch the cooking time closely. In my oven, it only takes 12 minutes to perfect doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RASHELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States