Polvorones de Canele (Cinnamon Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
these were soooo very good. My son's Spanish Teacher loved them. I made some changes on the 2nd batch just for my own taste...1 1/2 tsp cinnamon. when doubling the recipe add 1/3 cup more flour and 1/2 tsp more vanilla. I also added 2 Tblsp granulated sugar to the confectioners sugar before rolling cookies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Very nice little cookies. They are crunchy yet soft and crumbly all at the same time. Not a very sweet cookie; so if you have a sweet tooth, this might not satisfy it. I don't have much of one, so these are nice for me. I got 21 cookies out of the dough, so this batter does not make that many at all. I used my small cookie scoop, though, so if you make much smaller cookies you'd get more. Very easy, just takes a bit of time to dip in the sugar/cinnamon mixture and bake. I didn't use the amount of sugar and cinnamon called for dipping; that would have been way too much. I used about a 1/4 c of sugar and maybe 1/4 tsp cinnamon, and I had only a small amount left over. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
They really do melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Awesome cookies. They melt in your mouth, and taste like cinnamon munchkins... but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I followed the recipe as is and they were great! I brought them to my Spanish class and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I made these tonight. But before I started, I read the reviews. I added more cinnamon and sugar once they were almost cooled. My husband gobbled them up. He LOVED them! Saving them for another time. THey are super easy to make. They yield a lot of cookies tool But they go fast, since they are so small :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanna be cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Like a cinnamon shortbread. I doubled the cinnamon as someone suggested and I think I'd go with the recipe as written. I'll have to try it that way first though before I decide! I rated this four stars after making it but a year later they are still the cookie I remember most from last Christmas so I'm upping it to a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Very good and easy to make. Reminds of of snickerdoodle cookies. I must have done something wrong because when they cooked they flattened out instead of staying in a round ball like the picture. But the taste was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
guess it is just not my thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I made these exactly as the recipe calls. They were really good. Not too sweet but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Gonzales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States