Polvorones de Canele (Cinnamon Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
These were just ok to me. They needed a lot more cinnamon flavor and the texture was strange. Another user stated it best-like sand crumbling and melting on your tongue. If you are looking for a savory, chewy cookie then keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiekakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
For those of you (such as me) that haven't had "Polvorones de Canele" before, they are like a tasty cross between shortbread and snickerdoodles. Next time, I'm definately doubling the recipe as it doesn't make many and I'm using more cinnamon (1.5 tsp)in the batter for more flavor. As another reviewer suggested, definately watch the cooking time closely. In my oven, it only takes 12 minutes to perfect doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RASHELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
One of my new favorite cookies! Soooo easy to make, and the batter is so tasty I almost hate baking it. I add more cinnamon and some nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Batesville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Sorry, but this cookie wasn't what I expected at all. It's very buttery, I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
My husband needed a dessert for the Mexican bar at work but one co-worker is deathly allergic to nuts so we tried these. They were gone in a flash. I didn't care for them but I don't care much for cinnamon and thought they were greasy but I didn't have to eat more than one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
These are fantastic... My spanish class was having a fiesta so i thought i would try these. My class and friends devoured them!!! I'm about to make more because my friends won't stop bugging me about them! I def recomend it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
These are the best!! I've always made the trip to the Mexican Bakery in downtown Detroit. Thanks to Cathy, I don't have that drive anymore!! Thanks Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
this was fantastic i loved the buttery flavor and sweet taste.I had a little to much powder sugar mixture, but that was okay because I'll save it for the next time i make it. also add a little more flour and refrigerate for a little time so that it didn't melt when i formed the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
These were the hit of the night at my Mexican themed deck party last night. I loved how easy they were to make & they were nice & light which was great after a VERY filling meal. I accidentally cooked one batch longer & so I would say to anyone who makes these, make sure to only bake for 15-16 minutes so that they are still super soft in the middle. Overall, loved the texture and flavor...thank you so much for sharing this delightful recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by Marvelous
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I love these so much. I put them in my Christmas goodie bag for all my friends last year and they all loved them too. I don't change a thing and they always come out great. These get made whenever I need something sweet to share with people, which is fairly often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvelous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States