Polvorones de Canele (Cinnamon Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Taste's just like Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal the way I made it. Here's what I did: - Add 1 egg (for 2 dozen cookies) - Use granulated sugar to roll it in - Added a LOT more cinnamon than the recipe called for (enough to strongly smell it for both the dough and the sugar) - Finally, I cut the butter in half, so instead of using 2 sticks of butter for 24 cookies, I used one. I did this because it seemed like a lot of butter for that amount of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I really did enjoy this recipe! It helped me with an outside activity that I had to do for my Spanish course. When I was making the recipe everything worked out like it was supposed to but I was left with quite a bit of sugar and cinnamon.That's ok though because that can be saved to make this recipe again. The only trouble I had was they did burn a little bit so I would probably make them for 10-12 min. Overall they were great and my dad at most of them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie J.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Use real butter - A student made these for her history class and let me try them. I thought they were delicious so I am making them for the first time today. My dough did not get stiff enough for rolling in balls. I think this may be due to the fact that I used margarine (Parkay stick))instead of real butter. I have done everything else as instructed in the recipe. The dough is in the refrigerator now hoping to "stiffen" it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MRSBLUE1
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
They make the whole house smell wonderful! These are the perfect cookie to eat with Mexican hot chocolate or Spanish dunking chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Made these and the taste was honestly like under baked pie crust, my whole family is mexican and this tastes nothing like the polvorones we have had before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Ventura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Very delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Absolutely fantastic! Where have these been all my life?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
These are fabulous! I did increase the cinnamon in the dough a bit and eyed them instead of cooking them for a specific time (when they were slightly cracked on top, I called them done), and for what it's worth, I did toss them again very gently in cinnamon sugar once they had cooled a few minutes. I think these are excellent and will definitely make them again in the future! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Not sweet like my favorite cookies and a bit sour even. Perhaps I am just not a fan of Mexican cookies. Definitely cannot say I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Easy to make and ends up with good texture but the flavor somehow lacks a punch... I may have to tweak the cinnamon portions to make it tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States