Polly Welby's Excellent Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I think the trick is, you need to fold the whipped cream INTO the chocolate. (the recipe says to add the chocolate to the cream) And I added a teaspoon of sugar to the cream before whipping. Whipped till soft peaks formed and then melted the chocolate in the microwave at 45 second intervals. Put a big dallop of whipped cream into the chocolate and fold in (this should temper the chocolate instead of shocking it and making it chunky), add more spoonfuls of cream gently folding until it's all incorporated. Hopefully that will provide a better consistency for everyone that's having trouble getting it smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I had this finished under 15 minutes! I altered only slightly using semisweet chocolate chips (melted in microwave), I added 1 teaspoon vanilla extract and 2 tablespoons confectioners' sugar to the cream. After adding the chocolate (still warm)to the cream, I re-whipped for approx. 2-3 min. I topped off with a thin layer of whipped cream, and threw on a marachino cherry cut in half (rinsed in cold water to prevent bleeding). I had a to hide these in the fridge while they set! Excellent, now I have to make more or be nagged all night - good thing it's quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Tastes great! It doesn't look so great, though. Hopefully others can learn from my mistake. I cooled the chocolate as directed. In the meantime I chilled the bowl and whisk I was going to use to whip the cream. DON'T DO THAT. When I went to fold in the chocolate, it hardened too quickly because of the chilled bowl etc. It made little chocolate bits through, instead of a consistent chocolate flavored mousse. I'm sure the recipe would have turned out great had I not done that. I suspect my family will love this special Valentine's Day dessert anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This recipe was so good. I've tried more complicated recipes but none were near as good as this one. I wanted an eggless mousse recipe because I have small children that would be eating it. Couldn't believe the flavour from such an easy recipe. For those who live in Western Canada, I used Purdy's milk chocolate in this. I'm just trying to keep my spoon out of before my guests arrive for Easter dinner tonight! I put it in Martini glasses and topped it with a little whip cream i reserved. I also thought it would be nice next time to fold in chocolate shavings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This was SOOOOO good! Thanks aton! I don't really like using gelatin or raw eggs in my mousse, so this was a great alturnative. And it isn't too sweet! Thanks! Would highly recommend. P.S. microwave choc. chiops for about 30 sec. then ster, then put it in for another 30 sec and it should be melted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
WOW I'm in heaven! So easy, so quick, so divine! Definitely add the whip cream to the chocolate 1 scoop at a time to prevent clumpies...heck, bring on the clumpies, it's all good! I have used whatever chocolate I can find - even plain chocolate chips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STWALSH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This was delicious, but it was difficult to get the right consistancy. If it is chilled to long it is very thick and not long enough it is too light. Still lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Easy to do, but not the best result ever. Definitely only refrigerate for about 30 minutes prior to serving - otherwise you end up with a block of dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDBANKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Thank you Polly Welby for this recipe. I got raving reviews from my family and it was easy to make! I used semisweet chocolate chips though which made it almost taste like custard or ice cream. Really good. I used the advice on microwaving choc. (30 sec, stir, 30 sec) and it worked nicely. My family also enjoyed the touch of cherry and choc. shavings. Thanks again. I would make this again for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Easy tip: Add some heavy cream to the chocolate while it's melting and use a whisk to blend it together. Then, place the melted chocolate/cream mixture in the refrigerator for a few minutes, stir and return to fridge for a few more minutes and then remove and stir again. Next, spoon a little of this into the whipped cream and use an electric mixer to blend together. Repeat until all chocolate is blended into whipped cream. No chunks this way. Now, I added a packet of unflavored gelatin to the melting chocolate to make the texture more "mousse-like" and less like pudding. I also added a little rum extract to the chocolate for a more authentic flavor. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia I.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States