Polly Welby's Excellent Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This just didn't turn out for me. I doubled the quantity to make 8 servings, followed the recipe to a T, and ended up with a bitter product with the consistency of spackle. Even my 8 yr. old who loves mousse delcared it "not good." I used expensive Ghiradelli chocolate. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
As written, this recipe is only 3 stars for me. With bittersweet chocolate it turned out too rich and a little on the bitter side. To get the mousse as fluffy as possible, fold the whipped cream into the chocolate a little at a time, not the other way around. Even then though the mousse wasn't as light as traditional ones are. If you make this it's best to eat it right away! If you chill it for more then 15 minutes you'll end up with a block of crumbly chocolate, which isn't all that nice. For a good eggless mousse use semisweet chocolate and a bit of vanilla. But really, I prefer the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Ginny in Mass
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Excellent is an understatement. Soooo easy and delicious! I used 8 ounces Baker's brand semisweet chocolate and it was just perfect! Deep chocolate flavor and not too sweet. I put the mousse in single size pre-made graham cracker crusts, chilled and topped with whipped cream and a drizzle of chocolate sauce. This was a huge hit with the kids and the hubby. This is so easy, I'll be making it quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny in Mass
Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Simple and absolutely delicious!!!! I followed Josie's Mom's tip of folding the whipped cream into the chocolate and it worked a treat! It was a little dense (I may have over whipped the cream) but still fantastic. If you have these two ingredients it's perfect for a sudden craving as it's so quick to make! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnackyCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
MMMMMM, very good and simple. simplified more by whipping cream in blender on puree.....same results. Took others advice and blended chocolate into whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Apparently having whipped cream that is even slightly chilled is a bad idea for this. The texture is certainly lacking, specifically the lumps. I was planning to use this as a filling for a cake, and I believe it'll still work, but beware! Don't let your whipped cream be cold at ALL before folding it into the chocolate. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jastya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This did not work out for me. I wish it did because the flavor was great but the consistency was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I chose this recipe b/c I'm pregnant and needed a no-egg mousse. The other reviews helped a lot! I also folded the whipped cream into the chocolate. There were a few lumps at the end, but it still tasted wonderful!! I put a garnish of whipping cream on top with thinly sliced limes and lemons that I sugared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungrigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
perfect, fast and super easy!! delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is an excellent chocolate mousse to make for kids (no raw eggs). I have altered the recipe a bit--I make chocolate ganache and fold it into the whipped cream. This prevents the forming of chocolate chips in the mousse because the ganache will not harden like the melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States