Polly Welby's Excellent Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Aylyese
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Utterly Scrumptious! I was making a cake at the request of my daughter for her birthday .. and this coccoons two delicious layers of "Chocolate Lovers Torte". As I have 1, 3 and 4yo's, I needed a recipe without raw egg. This was perfect, and really yummy to boot. I sprinkled "flake" chocolate over the top of the cake so its a real hit! I have used Cadbury's Dark Chocolate being in Australia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aylyese

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I use this recipe for my famous chocolate mousse cake. I also white chocolate to make a white mousse cake. Both are high on my families request list! It is perfect, and perfectly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
THIS IS THE BEST CHOCOLATE MOUSSE I'VE EVER HAD! AND IT'S SO EASY TO MAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This recipe was so good. I've tried more complicated recipes but none were near as good as this one. I wanted an eggless mousse recipe because I have small children that would be eating it. Couldn't believe the flavour from such an easy recipe. For those who live in Western Canada, I used Purdy's milk chocolate in this. I'm just trying to keep my spoon out of before my guests arrive for Easter dinner tonight! I put it in Martini glasses and topped it with a little whip cream i reserved. I also thought it would be nice next time to fold in chocolate shavings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This was delicious! This was my first time making mousse and it was a hit!! I made it for my boyfriend, sister and brother-in-law. I added a dollop of whipped cream and blackberries as a topping. The tartness of the berries complimented the mousse very well. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by los angeles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This was SOOOOO good! Thanks aton! I don't really like using gelatin or raw eggs in my mousse, so this was a great alturnative. And it isn't too sweet! Thanks! Would highly recommend. P.S. microwave choc. chiops for about 30 sec. then ster, then put it in for another 30 sec and it should be melted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Thank you Polly Welby for this recipe. I got raving reviews from my family and it was easy to make! I used semisweet chocolate chips though which made it almost taste like custard or ice cream. Really good. I used the advice on microwaving choc. (30 sec, stir, 30 sec) and it worked nicely. My family also enjoyed the touch of cherry and choc. shavings. Thanks again. I would make this again for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Very excellent. It was like others said very rich, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
My only complaint was that the melted chocolate did not incorporate well into the whipped cream. Flecks and chunks remained, although my husband thought it was good that way. I think that if the melted chocolate was warm (not cool) and very slowly drizzed into the cream, then it would have mixed together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I had this finished under 15 minutes! I altered only slightly using semisweet chocolate chips (melted in microwave), I added 1 teaspoon vanilla extract and 2 tablespoons confectioners' sugar to the cream. After adding the chocolate (still warm)to the cream, I re-whipped for approx. 2-3 min. I topped off with a thin layer of whipped cream, and threw on a marachino cherry cut in half (rinsed in cold water to prevent bleeding). I had a to hide these in the fridge while they set! Excellent, now I have to make more or be nagged all night - good thing it's quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States