Polly Welby's Excellent Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by lola027
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I made this mousse for a party I recently had and everyone loved it. I made some extra whipped topping and used an 8oz Hershey's Symphony plain chocolate bar. Melted it in microwave as the other users suggested and you absolutely have to fold the cream into the chocolate to get it smooth. I mixed just a bit of sugar and cinnamon into leftover cream that I had and put a glob on top of mousse. Chilled for 15 minutes, then drizzled with a tad bit of hot fudge right before serving. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lola027

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
As far as I know this is the most delicious mousse in the history of the world, but I thought I'd point out that if you are the "one greedy person" who has all four servings you will be ingesting 186 grams of fat, including 115 grams of saturated fat. That is all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Extremely easy to make and delightfully delicious. Added the cream to the chocolate instead of vice versa to help with consistency issues. One note: It is better to eat this fresh than letting it sit in the fridge. It will start to harden very quickly and become more like ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I used 6oz. of semi sweet chocolate and 2oz. of unsweetened chocolate. Then I put it in mini fillo shells, and dusted with cinnamon. It was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This chocolate mousse is the simplest and the best I have ever had! My son must request this dessert twice a week. It's so rich and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADCarter1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I just had to try this last night and it is well worth it. When I was measuring out the cream I noticed that it was already sweetened (it's been a long, long time since I bought cream). I used good chocolate and melted it in a 4 cup pyrex measuring cup in the microwave. I took the advise of another reviewer and folded dollops of cream into the chocolate and it worked perfectly. I put some of this on top of a cheesecake I had made and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This had a great chocolate flavor going into the serving dishes. It was a great consistency and I was so pleased with the looks of the dessert as well. Fast forward to actually eating the dessert. It got so hard that I could have used an ice cream scoop to dip it. It also made the texture really thick. It became inedible after a few hours in the fridge. We ended up throwing it away. I will not make this recipe again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I think the trick is, you need to fold the whipped cream INTO the chocolate. (the recipe says to add the chocolate to the cream) And I added a teaspoon of sugar to the cream before whipping. Whipped till soft peaks formed and then melted the chocolate in the microwave at 45 second intervals. Put a big dallop of whipped cream into the chocolate and fold in (this should temper the chocolate instead of shocking it and making it chunky), add more spoonfuls of cream gently folding until it's all incorporated. Hopefully that will provide a better consistency for everyone that's having trouble getting it smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I tried to make this for my first Valentine's Day with my husband, and it did not turn out at all. The chocolate cooled immediately upon being added to the whipped cream, and there were little chocolate chunks throughout the mousse. It tasted like chocolatey butter, almost, and looked very unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I had this finished under 15 minutes! I altered only slightly using semisweet chocolate chips (melted in microwave), I added 1 teaspoon vanilla extract and 2 tablespoons confectioners' sugar to the cream. After adding the chocolate (still warm)to the cream, I re-whipped for approx. 2-3 min. I topped off with a thin layer of whipped cream, and threw on a marachino cherry cut in half (rinsed in cold water to prevent bleeding). I had a to hide these in the fridge while they set! Excellent, now I have to make more or be nagged all night - good thing it's quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States