Polly Welby's Excellent Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
People always love this. As others have mentioned, add the cream to the chocolate to keep the chocolate from hardening. I used semisweet chips too. If you want something really gourmet looking, add some raspberry sauce and a dollop of whipped cream with a mint leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Delicious! I was drawn to this mousse recipe - as it does not contain raw eggs! I read the reviews and made the following adjustments to the recipe - I whipped up a 12 oz. container of whipping cream (reserve 2 tbsp). While it was whipping I melted the chocolate with the 2 tbsp. of reserved whip in intervals of 20 seconds. When melted, I took the advise of others and folded in about i cup of whipped cream into the chocolate mixture - to lighten it up. (They do this same process with mouse with raw eggs - by folding in some whipped egg whites into the chocolate mixture before folding all the chocolate in). Then I folded the chocolate mixture into the whipped cream - ensuring air is maintained in the mixture and did not mix it. I also rewhipped the whole chocolate mixture for another 1 1/2 minutes. I used this mouss in two ways - I served some for dinner with whipped cream and chocolate syrup! It was delicious! I have also made this recipe as a filling in between two layers of a "Giant Chocolate Chip Cookie" Birthday Cake(from this website) and froze it - it was fantastic both ways! UPDATE - I made this again and served it half frozen in "Chocolate Dessert Cups"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
After reading most of the reviews, I changed the qtys a little bit. I reduced the amount of chocolate. By doing this, the mixture didnt become rock hard even after 2-3 days in the fridge! I served it with fresh strawberries and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
It did not eork and it has been in the ref for 12 hours! I followed the recipe ezactley!!!!!!!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Easy to do, but not the best result ever. Definitely only refrigerate for about 30 minutes prior to serving - otherwise you end up with a block of dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDBANKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Tastes great (of course--how can you really go wrong with chocolate and fat?) but the visual appeal is somewhat lacking. It looks like a really fast, shortcut recipe, which, ultimately, it is. Not something I would necessarily want to serve guests, but it is a perfectly speedy satisfy-my-guilty-choco-cravings-alone dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
WOW I'm in heaven! So easy, so quick, so divine! Definitely add the whip cream to the chocolate 1 scoop at a time to prevent clumpies...heck, bring on the clumpies, it's all good! I have used whatever chocolate I can find - even plain chocolate chips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STWALSH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This turned out badly for me. I used extra dark chocolate, and followed the recipe exactly except for folding the cream into the chocolate rather than the other way around. I don't know what went wrong after that. I guess 30-40 minutes was too long for it to chill because it had the consistency of truffle filling. It was also much too bitter... it DEFINITELY needed some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was so easy! I've never made mousse before and it came out perfect. Per some of the other reviews, I added 1.5 tb of sugar (I scaled the recipe back to 2 servings, so if you made it in it's original form, you would use 3 tb). I also made sure to add the chocolate slowly. Once the cream was whipped, I added one dollop of chocolate and mixed for 15-30 seconds until blended. I repeated this 3-4 times until the chocolate was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States