Pollo a la Crema Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I made this in the slow cooker and it turned out great. This is what I did. I put some chopped onion and the cup of chicken broth in the slow cooker. I put the chicken on top and poured the melted butter over it(didn't mix it so the butter would stay on top of the chicken). Since people said it needed more flavor, I salt and peppered the chicken and grated some fresh garlic on top. I put it on high for 4 hours and then mixed the flour with a little bit of water and poured it in. Then I added the cream. I added salsa instead of catsup for flavor and shredded the chicken up. An hour later it was ready to serve. Made Spanish rice for the side. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Great Recipe. i used a spicy tomato sauce instead of ketchup for more flavor! but very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
LOVE this recipe...came together so easitly and tasted fabulous! Is great with rice, pasta or tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I served this with brown rice and corn. I sauteed some onion to mix with the corn. I put the rice down, corn/onions on top, then pour the chicken and sauce over it all. Yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very easy. This was my first time making this so I did not stray too far. I did salt/pepper/garlic powder the chicken and add some chopped onion. Everything else was the same. I served over penne pasta and had a side salad. Too heavy for tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This recipe tastes really good. Altered it just a little. Didn't have the cream, so I used the substitution of 3/4c milk and 1/3c butter. Also didn't have rice as a side, but used refried beans. Delish! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Good, with a few changes. Altered it to add sliced mushrooms, onion, garlic and red pepper, like the mexican place does by my house. After tasting, I added a bit of cumin and a few shakes of hot sauce. I just had to make another half recipe of sauce. I used organic broth. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I used this recipe as a base for my pollo con crema. I sautéed some sliced onions and tomatoes with a little garlic salt, and then added my boiled shredded chicken and some tomato sauce. I also added cumin, oregano and cayenne pepper and salt until it was to my liking. Lastly I added sour cream and voila, it was perfect! I am Hispanic and it tasted just like my mothers pollo con crema. Thanks for the base idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
My 6 and 2 year olds could not get enough of it. I did add some oregano, cumin, salt and pepper. I served this with the Mexican Rice II from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romulus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This is a really good base recipe. I added onion, green pepper, and mushrooms just like at the Mexican restaurants. I threw in some sour cream and I did Tapatio sauce and cut the ketchup in half. I added garlic too, just cause we love garlic so much. It was SO good! The amount of flour the recipe called for didn't seem to thicken it up enough so I had to add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States