Pollo Oaxaca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Have made this recipe several times now, LOVE the sauce. Only changes I made due to personal preference was to boil my chicken breast with s&p and a bay leaf before frying and I add 3-5 Serrano peppers for extra heat. Serve with Mexican WHITE rice with poblano rajas in it & green salad. And definitely make EXTRA sauce for enchiladas, meat marinade, or eggs the next day, it's THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was easily a five-star recipe :) I've been making chile verde for awhile, and I never thought to keep part of the sauce uncooked. What a difference! The flavors and colors seem more vibrant this way. I'll definitely be using this method whenever a recipe calls for a tomatillo sauce. Just a side note, I used one mid-sized habanero instead of the serranos (I didn't have any on hand), and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
If this recipe had included the crucial step of sauteing the tomatillos with onion, garlic, peppers and some broth (as suggested in the review by rianna) then this would get five stars. We did as that review suggested and the result was fantastic but that step is really key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
The very best thing I've ever cooked. Absolutely delicious! I halved the recipe and it turned out great. I didn't change anything. I thought there would be a ton of prep (chopping, etc.) involved, but using a blender/food processor made it so quick and easy. I served it with rice and refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellie7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
YUMMY!!! This was quick and easy! Perfect for a fast dinner. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This contains a great salsa verde recipe. We love the brightness of cilantro and lime. I found the cooking time to be a little long. My chicken was done after 25 minutes. It reminded the entire family of enchiladas verdes, and I think corn tortillas would be a great accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Easy fast and tasty, next time I'll double up on the tomatillos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Tripoli, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I’m unsure why this recipe is getting such good reviews. I used to live in Mexico and this recipe isn’t really authentic at all plus it is very bland. After making it once exactly as written, I made it a 2nd time with the following changes: - Substitute jalapeno pepper for Serrano, and use 3-4 serrano peppers. -Boil raw, bone in chicken breasts with just enough water to cover chicken, a tsp of chicken bouillon per cup of water, few garlic cloves minced, ½ onion -Once chicken is no longer pink, take out of broth and set aside. Meanwhile - - Sautee tomatillos, Serrano peppers, 3 garlic cloves, ½ medium onion in pan with 1/3-1/4 cup chicken broth you have from cooking your chicken. After the tomatoes have turned slightly brown on all sides, puree in blender with 1 tsp of oregano. Once sauce is pureed to the consistency you like, take chicken off bone and spoon sauce over chicken. Since the chicken broth will be salty from the boullion, I let each person salt according to their own taste. I like to top with cilantro, queso fresco, lettuce, and a bit of lime juice. I eat it with fresh corn tortillas so it is almost more like enchiladas but it tastes much better than the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
My husband and I also thought it was very bland. We didn't serve it alongside Mexican rice, maybe that would have helped. It also might be better leaving the jalapeno seeds in for extra heat and using Mexican cheese. We couldn't bring ourselves to eat the leftovers, but as one of the reviewers suggested, I bet it would have been good with some refried beans & rice in a burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States