Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Delicious! Awesome flavors. I didn't use drumsticks; instead chicken breasts & thighs. I added sliced carrots and didn't need the salt. It was very flavorful. Served with white rice, whole beans, and salad. Nice, healthy meal. Mine was done in 5 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was a huge hit! What a nice aroma to come home to after a long day. I ran out of wine so I added about 3/4 of a bottle of beer. I also swapped one of the green peppers with a poblano pepper for a little more heat. I used skinless drumsticks which helped with making it less oilly. Next time I will put a few skinless chicken thighs in too as it does make quite a bit of sauce. I served with white rice and black beans. Thanks, this was a nice and easy authentic way of impressing my Puerto Rican Father- inlaw!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
this was awesome!!!! the only thing i did different was i used a whole cut-up chicken, and i browned it first b4 i put it in the crock pot. i followed everything else to the letter, and it was soooooo good!! served it over mahatma yellow rice, and had a nice loaf of crusty bread....fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph_in_newmex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This is delicious and different but pretty salty. The first time I made this with the salt, but I omitted when I made this again. Unfortunatly, I still thought this was a bit too salty. The next time I make this, I will have to cut back on the Adobo seasoning. I did skip the Sazon seasoning as this is bascially MSG. I also replaced the chicken legs with a large tray of chicken tenders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I thought this was great! Next time I make it I think I will follow the other reviews suggestion to add a can of tomatoes. Also I topped it with some cilantto. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Wow !!! So yummy! The chicken fell off the bone and was mouth watering good! Very easy to make too! I used sofrito like some others had suggested and added chicken stock to cover. Next time I will add carrots and some beans.Thanks for the great recipe !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
WOW! I used about 4 oz. tomato sauce and white wine like other reviewers suggested. This was amazing and easy. My husband licked his plate clean. I would love to make a huge pot of this for parties. I would love more authentic recipes like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Jrusk
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Delicious! I used chicken thighs, added a can of rotel and used beer instead of wine. Next time I'll try it with the wine. Can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Even my two teenaged boys liked this! The flavor and texture of the sauce were totally new to us. It was fun to make something different that wasn't loaded with the usual high amounts of fat and calories. I did add 4 oz of tomato sauce as other reviewers suggested. Thanks Love2Cook for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This turned out great! I used skinless chicken thighs instead of drumsticks and browned them before putting them in the slow cooker. I doubled the amount of adobo seasoning and sazon as some had suggested and did not use any additional salt. It seemed like it would be a little watery so near the end of cooking I added a small can of tomato paste. The chicken was so tender it was falling off the bone. The potatoes were delicious (I'll put a couple more in next time). My husband really liked this - although if he'd seen what went into the sauce he would probably have refused to try it! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States