Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and it was not what I expected. My boyfriend like flavor of the chicken, I did not! Will not be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
After reading all the positive reviews, I really thought this would be really good, BUT it wasn't! I only changed 1 thing out of the whole recipe, and that was using beer instead of wine(as suggested in other reviews), maybe that is the flavor I'm not liking? This took a lot of time preparing, and I was so excited to come home to puerto rican tasting chicken! Darn! Oh well, my boyfriend said it was "not too bad", so thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I wasn't sure which type of sazon to use; nonetheless, it smelled delicious while cooking; the taste was not as I was expecting but still very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
The flavors in this dish are outstanding. The prep time is long but worth it. I didn't bother peeling the potatoes and it made no difference in the flavor. I also peeled the skin off the chicken because I didn't want this to end up too greasy. The one thing I would change here is the amount of chicken and potatoes. Not enough meat, and way too many potatoes. I might also add some peas or corn to it in the end. This turned out like a stew, so no rice was really needed here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Delicious! Awesome flavors. I didn't use drumsticks; instead chicken breasts & thighs. I added sliced carrots and didn't need the salt. It was very flavorful. Served with white rice, whole beans, and salad. Nice, healthy meal. Mine was done in 5 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was a huge hit! What a nice aroma to come home to after a long day. I ran out of wine so I added about 3/4 of a bottle of beer. I also swapped one of the green peppers with a poblano pepper for a little more heat. I used skinless drumsticks which helped with making it less oilly. Next time I will put a few skinless chicken thighs in too as it does make quite a bit of sauce. I served with white rice and black beans. Thanks, this was a nice and easy authentic way of impressing my Puerto Rican Father- inlaw!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
this was awesome!!!! the only thing i did different was i used a whole cut-up chicken, and i browned it first b4 i put it in the crock pot. i followed everything else to the letter, and it was soooooo good!! served it over mahatma yellow rice, and had a nice loaf of crusty bread....fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph_in_newmex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This is delicious and different but pretty salty. The first time I made this with the salt, but I omitted when I made this again. Unfortunatly, I still thought this was a bit too salty. The next time I make this, I will have to cut back on the Adobo seasoning. I did skip the Sazon seasoning as this is bascially MSG. I also replaced the chicken legs with a large tray of chicken tenders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I thought this was great! Next time I make it I think I will follow the other reviews suggestion to add a can of tomatoes. Also I topped it with some cilantto. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Wow !!! So yummy! The chicken fell off the bone and was mouth watering good! Very easy to make too! I used sofrito like some others had suggested and added chicken stock to cover. Next time I will add carrots and some beans.Thanks for the great recipe !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States