Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
First, Fact; half the human population taste's cilantro as the taste of soap! If you've never delved into the world of cilantro, i suggest you snip and eat a leaf off a bunch at the grocery first. Cilantro comes from the Coriander plant. You can try Parsley or Italian Parsley as a substitute. I'm one of those in between as I taste some of the soapy taste but I tolerate it well. Anyway, I made it and I believe it to be a good recipe. Very healthy too. But I don't see why some rate it as difficult to prepare! All the veggys are rough cut and made in two batches in the blender or processor. I used Paul Masson White Zinfidel wine. Let me suggest substituting yucca for the potatoes! I will use the yucca next time I make it. My wife is New-Rican (I'm Scot/Irish) and says her mother (born /raised in Puerto Rico) added tomato paste and she wants it served with white rice. In summary, Bravo, great contribution to our community!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelThePracticalBBQr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Finally, the real deal! Thank you for posting. I have had many variations (a few with crazy ingredient twists), but I know this to be the correct and most authentic Chicken Fricassee of Puerto Rico. Great job and "Buen Provecho!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This was an "ok" meal for my family. I don't know if it was just me, but this tasted like everything else done in the crop pot. Sorry, this was not a good seller at my house. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Made this after Seeing all the Good Reviews, Made it Exactly Like Recipe Says & Came Out Disgusting . .. Wont Be Making that Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifuh
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
easy to make recipe, its full of flavor and is something very different from what I would usually prepare. My boyfriend enjoyed this so much he asked for the recipe ;]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This recipe was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
this was delicous! My boyfriend is a tuff critic and dosnt always like some of the best rated dishes I try. He LOVED this dish and I had to agree it is full of flavor and reminded me of my puerto rican moms cooking.I added extra minced garlic but otherwise followed recipie to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Probably the best recipe of this type I've ever made. And I didn't do the puree thing, either. Just added all the ingredients (frozen cilantro cubes instead of the real thing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This dish took a while to prepare but was definitely worth it. Everyone in the family loved it and the house smelled amazing while it was cooking. Will definitely make this one again - would love to get a larger pot to make even a bigger portion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gbscreates

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States