Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Tasty! Not sure why we pureed everything, but it was good. We used boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of thighs. Turned out fine. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This was fantastic! Even my picky eating 6 year old loved it! I love that you can just throw it in the crock pot and have a great dinner! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Nice hearty fall dish! It was best the next day when all the flavors combined. Skipped the Odobo and Sazon seasonings and their MSG, preservatives, and food coloring. Instead I doubled the salt and add a teaspoon each of turmeric and ground coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
love this recipe...will double and use for a group of friends. I also used chicken breasts on the bone (cut into 3 pieces) and chicken thighs (cut in half)...I cooked this recipe for 10 hours on low and was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Murphy Herrmann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Awesome recipe! I noticed some reviewers said it was too salty, I offer this suggestion: season to YOUR taste. I used La Preferida Sazon all purpose seasoning with pepper and Adobo all purpose seasoning like I would normally salt my chicken before cooking. I added one and one half pounds of skinless chicken thighs when I saw how much sofrito the recipe makes. The sofrito(pureed veggies) is great. Oh yeah, I'm making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wncqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I have a question is the Sazon seasoning Goya brand? I could not find the .18 ounce packages so how much in teaspoons would I use from the jar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
First, Fact; half the human population taste's cilantro as the taste of soap! If you've never delved into the world of cilantro, i suggest you snip and eat a leaf off a bunch at the grocery first. Cilantro comes from the Coriander plant. You can try Parsley or Italian Parsley as a substitute. I'm one of those in between as I taste some of the soapy taste but I tolerate it well. Anyway, I made it and I believe it to be a good recipe. Very healthy too. But I don't see why some rate it as difficult to prepare! All the veggys are rough cut and made in two batches in the blender or processor. I used Paul Masson White Zinfidel wine. Let me suggest substituting yucca for the potatoes! I will use the yucca next time I make it. My wife is New-Rican (I'm Scot/Irish) and says her mother (born /raised in Puerto Rico) added tomato paste and she wants it served with white rice. In summary, Bravo, great contribution to our community!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelThePracticalBBQr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Finally, the real deal! Thank you for posting. I have had many variations (a few with crazy ingredient twists), but I know this to be the correct and most authentic Chicken Fricassee of Puerto Rico. Great job and "Buen Provecho!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This was an "ok" meal for my family. I don't know if it was just me, but this tasted like everything else done in the crop pot. Sorry, this was not a good seller at my house. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Made this after Seeing all the Good Reviews, Made it Exactly Like Recipe Says & Came Out Disgusting . .. Wont Be Making that Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifuh
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States