Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I was born and raised in PR. It tasted just like my grandma's fricase de pollo. I followed the advice from a reviewer and used beer (12 oz lager). My nana uses beer. I would recommend using a little less adobo. I make my own sofrito (peppers, onion, garlic, basil, cilantro)and freeze it so that it's ready when I need it. I cooked it on the stove. I pan friend the chicken with the ingredients except the beer. It took about 30 min to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
So much flavor, and it's very easy to make. Not a lot of talking happening during this dinner; just a lot of "mmmmmm".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendi Leitzell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Very soupy and not appealing. Hubby liked it, but the kids and I thought it was bland as is. IF i make this again, there will be LOTS of adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Needed something different...so I jumped on line found this recipe aDELICIOUS! 9/13/2013 meal, i baked mine in the oven ON 350 becuse i needed it ready in 2 hrs time. worked out well and tasted so good. Also used Red Wine Vinegar instead of dry red wine..which turned out fine. WILL MAKE MANY MORE TIMES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I love this! I'm Puerto Rican & this is authentic. The garlic, peppers, onion, etc that you puree together is called "sofrito" so I always have this blended on hand. (I make batches ahead of time and freeze them into small batches). The only change I make is I usually add some veggies, even if it's small corn on the cobs or just mixed stew veggies. I serve this with white rice and tostones (which are fried plantains). Delicious!! I make this all of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Everyone hated this! I didn't even want to bother to doctor it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
You could also use chicken tights and if you are in a hurry or do not like bones, like me :), I use boneless tights instead. It will still be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
We really liked this recipe! Great flavors, we love cilantro, and it's so much better the next day! The chicken was tender and we served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Love this dish..I do not understand how anyone can find bland, girl I have been cooking with adobo, sazon, cilantro and culantro and nothing I cook with that is bland.. You can prepare this and freeze for the weekend and still taste awesome.. NOT BLAND AT ALL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Tasty! Not sure why we pureed everything, but it was good. We used boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of thighs. Turned out fine. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States