Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This was really good. Served w/ white rice. I did add a can of chicken broth, looked like it needed more fluids. I also did not have red wine, so I used white cooking wine, Also used chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Excellent dish! I'd describe this dish as extremely flavorful, moist, saucy and actually quite healthy. I served it alongside a salad. Its very filling and tasty even without a carb alongside it. I made only slight changes: 1) To make it healthier, I substituted the chicken legs for skinless, boneless, chicken tenders (I used 3 packets, so I also doubled the potatos). 2) The chicken rub calls for sazon seasoning which I did not have. So, I looked it up online and made my own version of it: 1/2 tsp dried oregano, 1/2 tsp coriander powder, 1 tbl paprika, 1/4 tsp salt, about 1 tbl tabasco sauce, about 2 tbl white wine or rice vinegar. These ingredients are some of the ingredients included in the actual sazon. Other ingredients were already in the Adobo seasoning, so I didn't bother duplicating those. 3) I thought the original recipe needed to be a bit saucier, so I added 2 cups chicken broth. This dish gave me a whole new perspective on puerto rican food and could actually turn into a staple in our household! By the way, I wanted to mention that I think you could easily make-ahead the sauce in the blender to save time. Second time I made it: I roasted the peppers, garlic and onion for about 24 min. using 1/2 the evol called for in the recipe. I did everything else the same. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was so good. Very fresh tasting...which does not happen with a slow cooker very often. I will use boneless/skinless breast next time just to make eating it a bit easier. Great flavor. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Grate recipe. I made this for my first meeting with the in-laws and it turned out perfectly. I didn't change any of the sauce, I just used a fryer chicken instead of the dark meat. It had enough spice and zip and it turned out very tender & moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was good, I did play around with the spices a bit to get it just right, but this was a good base. Next time I will make sure to cut my potato slices thicker, as by the time this was done cooking, the potatoes had mostly all turned to a mushy sauce. This didn't affect the taste at all, just the presentation. Taste was very good. Next time I might try with a can of diced tomatoes as other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pattyowen
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
The smell of this dish simmering all day in the slow cooker is making all of our mouths water. My children have been in the kitchen to check on it a hundred times, and they say they know it will be good because of the smell and color. I only used one potato, (red, skin on, cut small) because I want to make Spanish Rice and tortillas with it. I used white wine because that's what I had on hand. I've tasted the juices (it's still cooking) and so far it's wonderful. I would definately serve this for company for an informal gathering. Thanks so much for this recipe, it's definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyowen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I don't know about this recipe being authentic---I just know it was DELICIOUS! I did---don't we all---stray a bit from the recipe. I had a package of boneless chicken breasts and thighs I used instead of legs and used most each of red, green, and yellow peppers. I haven't had a crockpot since the my lid got melted (long story). But I popped it all into my blue enamel roasting pan that has NEVER produced anything NOT yummy and into the oven at 300 for about 5 hours. Anyhow, the smells in the kitchen within an hour---the alluring aromas of garlic and cilantro and onion...mmmm.... I did sample the sauce before I turned it over the chicken, and it was sooo good! I could probably have just ate it then on some chips. Oh---and I used fresh oregano. I didn't use red potatoes but one thinly sliced Idaho. I served it all with Saffron rice and a salad I made of the leftover bell peppers, some fresh jalepeno pepper, red onion, cilantro, rinced black beans and roasted corn. I dressed it with a lime juice and garlic-olive oil dressing. It lacked something---maybe a dash of vinegar? It needed another layer of flavor, but mixed with the Pollo and rice---magnifico! The chicken was so tender and sweet, the sauce---and there was plenty of it---was to die for, so complex and flavorful, but with a summer-y freshness thanks to the tang of the cilantro. This recipe will definitely see my roasting pan again!!!!! Thank you! (Oh, and I can't believe it, but I found the sazon season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
We thought it was great! I saved the leftover "gravy" and ate that as a delicious soup for lunch the next day! This was a great way to get my kids to eat their veggies without knowing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomom1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This recipe was very good, and my husband and I both loved it. It was a bit spicy for my kids, who are 3 and 5, but that could be because of my one major substitution. I used one chipotle pepper and about a teaspoon of adobo sauce instead of the adobo and sazon seasonings. The sauce was still delicious, though, in my opinion, and the chicken was just falling off the bone- so tender and yummy! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Wow! This recipe has been a hit with the entire family. I've been making it once a week for a while & it's a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States