Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I always add 1 tablespoon of white vinegar and instead of red wine I use white wine or cooking wine. Sometimes, when I don't have wine, I use beer and works out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cerro Gordo, Anasco, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This is the ultimate slow cooker recipe- minimal prep work and outstanding flavor!! I like very spicy food so I substituted jalapenos for the green bell pepper and chipotle pepper for the sazon seasoning. The entire house smelled yummy. This will be my #1 go to slow cooker recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
my husband loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I thought this was pretty good and a great starting point! I am lucky enough to be from a Puerto Rican family so I used my aunt's homemade sofrito instead of all the peppers, cilantro, etc.. In my opinion this was way too salty from the all the adobo seasoning but this can obviously be adjusted and my hubby loves all that sodium anyway.... I did use a 4 oz. can of salt free tomato sauce and about 1/4 c. of white cooking wine. I did cut the potatoes into chunks from the reviewers suggetions and this worked out great. It would be good to add some pinto beans next time also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this with boneless chicken breasts and left out the potatoes. I had many requests for this recipe and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I'm giving this 5 stars because the only thing I didn't love is a change I made. I used sweet potatoes and it added a little too much sweet flavor. Worked great in the crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was ok. Glad I tried it, but not really a keeper. I was really hoping for the best with this because it sounded delicious. The chicken fell off the bones and it was a stew, more or less. Watch out for the tendons and the end bone on the leg. These come off the drum stick and make for a nice choke hazard if you miss them. I think the veggie mix you dump on top could be a pretty good salsa with some doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I think this turned out pretty salty, and I only used half the salt. Next time if I make it again, I won't use any salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
My fiance said this reminded him of home (colombia), but he didn't go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubilina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is a wonderful dish. I made minimal changes, added some sliced bell pepper and diced onions with the potatoes. I added some extra pepper and some Mexican Chili powder to it and next time (and yes, I will cook this again!!)I'll probably double the chili powder. My slow cooker took about 6 hours on high to get the potatoes done. The chicken was moist and sooooo tender. I used chicken breasts (about 2.5 lbs) instead of legs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States