Pollo Bianco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I absolutely love this recipe. It reminded me of a dish my own grandmother used to make when I was a child. It is the simplicity of this recipe that makes it so good. Sometimes simple is better...and this recipe proves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
My husband and I love this recipe! It's one of his all-time favorites. I do, however, try to use a VERY large onion and we still don't get quite enough sauce for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I found this recipe while looking for someway to cook thighs. At first I thought it was way to simple to be good, but I had all the ingredients, so I gave it a shot. It is delicious, and a huge hit, even with my 2 very picky children (5 & 13). Couple of tips: season the chicken with salt, pepper and a little paprika before you saute, use a very large onion (my favorite part of this recipe is the sauce), and use chicken stock instead of the water. Serve it over rice with some extra sauce...yum! I've tried doubling the sauce recipe and it doesn't come out as good. So I've started doubling the entire recipe using 2 pans, boneless breasts in one and thighs in the other. (I start the thighs first since they take longer to cook.) Great recipe...simple but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
The whole family loved this !! I only changed a couple of things to suit us... I chopped the boneless chicken thighs in to large chunks and added some basil, parsley, oregano and garlic when the water went in .. and right at the end (just because my kids love gravey) I added some gravey powder mixed with a little water and then let it heat until thick... yummmy. My boys all had seconds and hubby cleaned the pan !!! Thanks the Aussies loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would! This was FABULOUS : ) I just made this last night, although I did make some slight changes. I used chicken breasts, instead of thighs, and increased the olive oil to 3 Tbls. I also seasoned the chicken liberally (before browning in oil) with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I also cooked the onions much longer than the recipe stated (about 13 minutes) because I like to get my onions really carmalized and bring out their flavor-be careful not to burn them! I served the chicken with oven roasted potatoes as suggested (I used yukon gold potatoes, quarted them, and tossed them with olive oil, cumin, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and paprika-baked at 475 degrees for 20 minutes) and I did toss the potatoes with the onion mixture. Very, very simple and it tastes out of this world! Do not be fooled by it's simplicity, and do not hesitate to add your own spices as this recipe is a wonderful base that can be adjusted to suit any palate. A +++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This is a very easy recipe and has good results. Chicken was very tender and moist. Have never cooked with thigh meat before and this was a good start for me. I substituted 14 oz of chicken broth for most of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
A Keeper for sure. I made this last night and my extremely picky teenager had seconds! After reading other comments, I too added more spices, course ground sea salt, course pepper, paprika, garlic powder, basil, and sauted the onions just alittle longer than 5 minutes. I also used chicken stock instead of water. This ends up being a very juicy, sweet chicken dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birdsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I was unsure how this would turn out since the recipe is so simple. I tried it out last night and it was awesome! I also seasoned the chicken with garlic and salt before browning. I didn't have chicken stock so I threw a chicken buillon while it was simmering and served over rice. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Turned out incredible. I was worried it would be like a boiled chicken soup-like thing, but the onions caramalized well. Remember - don't simmer on low - I didn't read the recipe right at first. I simmered on medium high, stirring regularly. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This recipe is so simple, requires few ingredients and is absolutely delicious...so much flavor!! I carmelized my onions until nice and golden brown and used chicken stock instead of water for added flavor. I served it with brown rice and a vegetable. Yummy! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States